? Jett dose decrease?

Status
Not open for further replies.

PJ Brown

Member Since 2016
Hi Everyone,

Jett's numbers have come down and I was reading the SLGS guidelines and saw this:
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
Jett's PMPS last night was 226 and +2 was 222 and the AMPS this morning was 248. I decreased the dose by .25 this morning, since the PS #s are so much lower than in previous days. Did I do the right thing? Do you agree with this?

It is 19 degrees in Austin, Texas this morning, so it's a perfect day to do a curve. I will be updating his spreadsheet throughout the day.

Thanks for your help!
Patti + Jett
 
I think I would have stuck with the 2.25 dose and monitored today to see how low he went on it. Sorry, I'm used to TR.

That's really cold for Texas, huh? We're at 22 in New Jersey.
 
Just to let you know, after a flat yellow cycle, a cat will sometimes have an active cycle, not all the time, but it happens. He could have been flat all night, and even though you gave a reduced dose this morning, he's running off that depot. So, get those tests in ;)
 
I agree with Dyana...I would have held the dose at 2.25U, too. It will be interesting to see what the curve shows!
 
Thank you. Should I go back to 2.25 units tonight? His last 2 tests have been in the 400s. I guess I got too excited about the yellow #s!

Patti + Jett
 
It stands for Big Chicken Shot. Not saying you're a big chicken, it just means a one time (one cycle) dose reduction, and is usually used when the care giver doesn't want to give the full regular dose for some reason, like the number is lower than normal, the person can not monitor or needs to sleep, or the cat is not eating well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top