Just diagnosed today

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Bruce & Smokey, Mar 28, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bruce & Smokey

Bruce & Smokey New Member

I got a call at work this afternoon from my vet, who said that Smokey is not only diabetic, "he's VERY diabetic." Blood sugar was 483, fructosamine was 645. So, oy, now what? I did a quick web search and found this site. Seems like good articles on here. Are you folks satisfied with the website? It apparently hasn't been updated since 2013. But this forum seems to be active. I'm babbling. I'm glad there are places like this, and I would appreciate any advice I can find or get. Thank you.

2. Wesley and Spicoli

Wesley and Spicoli Member

I'm a newbie myself, but the folks here are extremely helpful! Home testing is a must. By doing this you'll be able to see how your cat is responding to insulin. Shooting blind (without testing blood glucose) can be deadly. Not trying to scare you. My personal experience was that my vet had my cat on too high a dose and if I hadn't caught the changes he could have easily gone into hypo and died while I was at work. Also, diet is very important. I think most everyone here feeds their cat a low carb/high protein diet, preferably one that's 10% or less in carbs. Prescription diets aren't necessary and very expensive. I've had nice results with Fancy Feast Classic. He's a wet food junkie so I haven't tried dry low carb foods. This doesn't necessarily work for everyone - every cat is different. There are some great links on the front page with lots of handy info. Take some time to read them.

Shots and ear prickings can be scary st first. I know I was super nervous for the first week or 2. You'll get it. Just like anything else it takes time and practice.