Kai Updates

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bree

Member Since 2016
Hi all,
I recently drove from Portland to Seattle to spend the holidays with my family. I took Kai along because, even though I hadn't started her on insulin yet, I didn't feel comfortable leaving her with a cat sitter. This turned out to be very fortuitous because I was lucky enough to sit and talk with a woman in Seattle who is sort of the local feline diabetes guru. She talked to me for two hours, showed me how to take BGs, and give insulin. She completely set me up. An absolute holiday angel. I am so grateful to her.
So Kai is now on insulin and I have started to fill out her spreadsheet. I've only been given her 1 unit lantus so far, but it's looking like I will need to bump her up already. Trying not to be discouraged so early in the process, but it's hard because I am just so eager to get her regulated!
Continued thanks to everyone for their help and support. Also, if you are in the Seattle area and need help, I have no doubt that my new found friend would be more than willing to talk with you!
Happy Holidays!
 
How wonderful that you found this person and she was able to get you off and running! Sounds great on the testing and the insulin. :)

A few notes of caution about Lantus and dose decisions:

1) As a "depot" insulin, it takes a little while before you can really see what a particular dose Lantus is going to do-- the last couple days isn't nearly enough time, you should give it several days for the "depot" to fill before deciding to change.

2) The number you shot this morning, 194, is just a hair under the usual "no shoot" number for newbies, 200. I don't think it was wrong to shoot this morning, just pointing out that it was a relatively low number and your pm pre-shot (284) was considerably higher. There's no way to know now what happened in the middle, but it's possible that the morning dose brought Kai way down, and the 284 is just a kind of rebound from that as the liver responds to the unfamiliar (at the moment) low BG levels. Like I said above, it's too soon to tell about the 1U dose, but it's actually possible that it may be too high, not too low, and that's why the PM number was high.

The thing that will really help figure out dosing is to try to get a few mid-cycle tests in-- if you can grab a test a few hours after shooting at night, or if you can get something during the day, it really does help a lot in trying to figure out what is going on.

In the meantime, though, congratulations on joining the Kitty Vampire Club, and getting your Kai on the road to feeling better!
 
What a blessing to have found such help!
Congrats especially on the testing ....
You are in good hands here with @Nan & Amber
some of the best advice I got was "all data is good data"....welcome aboard!:bighug:
 
I had a good feeling about you both Bree, positive thoughts go a long way. Noah's numbers are steady for the first time in months. I miss the west coast so much, and bears, and the ocean.
 
Day 10 of our new adventures. As you can see from her spreadsheet, Kai's numbers are still all over the board. I'm staying positive and sticking to our schedule but she's not going to "get regulated" as quickly as we were originally hoping. Definitely curious to know if anyone has some thoughts on what her numbers are saying.
 
From what I know of Lantus you need to hold the starting dose for around a week in order for the depot to fill properly. After that, you can choose either the Start Low Go Slow or the Tight Regulation protocol. You can read about these in the info Stickies on the Lantus/Levemir forum.

Until you have accumulated a lot of data on how your kitty responds, doses should be held for longer than you have been doing. You've only been doing this for a week and a half and I see several dose changes day to day and from AM to PM. I think that this early in the game Kai needs some dose stability while you get more BG test data. You've been doing AM and PM pre shot tests and that's great. However, there are only two other tests, both at +8. Testing mid cycle is hard if you're at work but late evening before bed tests or midcycle tests on days off would give you a better picture of how Kai is doing.

It's a rare kitty that is regulated in a week or two. Most take far longer than that. You need to be careful and methodical in your dosing, testing and data logging to get the best results. I suggest that you post on the Lantus/Levemir forum to get more specific advice from people who use these insulins.

I hope this helps. :)
 
Well, that's discouraging. I've been getting all of my dosing advice from the woman in Seattle. I text her Kai's numbers and she tells me how much to give. She has regulated/converted about 25 cats, so she certainly has the experience. She is also an RN.
 
Last edited:
Well, that's discouraging. I've been getting all of my dosing advice from the woman in Seattle. I text her Kai's numbers and she tells me how much to give. She has regulated/converted about 25 cats, so I kind of figured she'd be a good source.
I read your post about meeting the lady on your trip but I didn't realize she was guiding you in dosing Kai. Different insulins can be used in different ways. Some, like Vetsulin and ProZinc, can be used fairly easily with "sliding scale" dosing (dose adjusted according to BG number) but the depot insulins like Lantus and Levemir work differently. The insulin has to build up in the kitty in a way that makes it act somewhat like time release medication. The buildup is called the depot. Some people are able to dose on a sliding scale with Lantus after they've become very familiar with their kitties responses - ie., have logged a lot of BG test numbers.

I strongly recommend that you post on the Lantus forum to ask for help from the very experienced people there.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lantus-levemir-what-is-the-insulin-depot.150/
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lantus-levemir-start-low-go-slow-method-slgs.129446/
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lantus-levemir-tight-regulation-protocol-tr.1581/
 
Thank you!
You're welcome! I'm sorry if I upset you by giving information that differs from what you've been told. You'll feel much better about what you're doing for your kitty if you learn as much as you can about Lantus and dosing. The Lantus forum folks are very knowledgeable and willing to guide you. :)
 
Hi Bree,

Great job getting started with the treatment and the home testing! :cool:

I fully understand how tricky and confusing it can be when everything is so new and one gets conflicting advice from different sources. :bighug:

I am glad that the kind lady in Seattle has been such a help to you with learning how to home test BG and getting you started with insulin treatment but I have treated my own cat with Lantus and I have some major concerns about the advice she is giving you about Lantus dosing; it is incorrect for this type of insulin - and potentially unsafe.

The lady is using a 'sliding scale' method for dosing based on the preshot BG. A sliding scale method may be applicable for the in-out insulins Prozinc and PZI but it is NOT a suitable dosing method for depot insulins like Lantus. Trying to dose on a sliding scale with Lantus could very easily lead to highly unpredictable results for your cat. It is safer and more effective to have things as consistent as possible when treating a cat with Lantus.

As other members have already advised above, Lantus is a depot insulin which builds up a little 'tank' of insulin in the cat's body to help keep BG levels steady during the day. It takes holding a given dose 6-10 cycles to allow the depot to fill and stabilise before the efficacy and safety of the dose can be properly assessed.

Lantus insulin works best when dosing is consistent. The method for safe and effective dose adjustment is slow and methodical. Dose adjustments need to be done in small increments (typically 0.25IU) and then held for several cycles to give time for the level of Lantus held in the depot to adjust.

Lantus dose adjustments need to be based on the nadir of the cycle (lowest BG level), NOT the preshot.

Lantus nadirs typically occur in the period between +4 and +7 hours after dose admin so I recommend you start doing BG spot checks between these times to better establish Kai's nadir BG.

You need to do mid-cycle tests for the PM cycle as well as the AM cycle. Many, many kitties have BG levels that run lower at night so for safety you need to see what is happening with Kai on the night time cycles. With the higher AMPS readings you've been seeing (the pinks) it is possible that Kai's BG may be bouncing back up from a fairly low number overnight. The sooner you start doing the PM mid-cycle tests the better: a dose which might be safe for a daytime cycle could well be too high for a nighttime cycle.

I am glad that you posted here for additional help. The advantage of posting here is that FDMB works on a peer review basis: when we post here with questions we are not reliant on just one person's advice or suggestions about treatment. When many people who have successfully used the insulin we're using give consistent advice and suggestions it helps to reassure us that the information they offer is sound. Also we can follow the stories of other kitties on the board using our insulin type and see how well they do following the dosing methods advocated here at FDMB (SLGS - Start Low, Go Slow Method; TRP - Tight Regulation Protocol).

For information there is a very strict rule on FDMB that all discussions about dosing must be done on the public board. The reason for this is to make sure that many eyes can review the discussion, validate correct information, offer more than one viewpoint, and - very importantly - raise a flag if any suggestions are offered which might be less than sound.

I echo the recommendations above for you to join FDMB's very active Lantus & Levemir ISG board. There are a number of highly experienced Lantus users participating in the group who will be able to offer you and Kai a wealth of help and support on your Lantus journey, including assistance with learning how to dose Lantus correctly. Here's a link to the board:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-glargine-levemir-detemir.9/

There are several very informative educational stickies at the top of the board to help you learn more about how Lantus insulin works. I've also attached below a journal article co-authored by vet Dr Jacquie Rand, a world authority on feline diabetes, about how to manage diabetic cats using long-acting insulins like Lantus (helps to see information from an independent, authoritative source so you may be able to better assess the validity of the advice and suggestions offered to you by others.)

I recommend you start a thread on the L&L board asking for help with correct dosing of Lantus. In the meantime I would recommend you do not give a dose higher than 1.0 IU Lantus BID and also always ask on L&L for advice before giving any insulin if preshot is less than 200. (You don't have much data yet and you have yet to establish how low Lantus is taking Kai at nadir. You need to get earlier mid-cycle tests - AM and PM - to ensure the start dose is safe before starting to increase.)

I hope this will clarify things for you. Kai is already showing a good response to his Lantus. When you get the correct dosing sorted out I think he will even out more and do really well (anti-jinx!). The experienced Lantus users at FDMB have helped many, many caregivers get their kitties into remission! :)

:bighug:


Mogs


(PS: When you get a moment, Bree, it would be a great help if you could add the name of the meter you're using to your forum signature so that members replying to your posts will be able to properly interpret Kai's BG data and offer you better suggestions. Thank you! :) )

.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top