? Lantus Curve

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Chesterfield and Josh, Jun 29, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chesterfield and Josh

Chesterfield and Josh New Member

Good day -

I'm new to the whole sugar kitty world. I've been taking Chester in for blood tests every week to try to dial in his Lantus units. He is extremely stressed at the vet's office, so I wanted to start doing readings at home. I'm going to do a curve this Sunday, to see what his numbers come in at through the day.

My question is, that upon telling my vet this, they drew out a standard glucose curve, but I've been reading and I've seen that Lantus is not a 'peak' insulin and that curves don't really work. My vet gave me a diagram and instructions, but I'm guessing the curve won't look like this due to the non peaking Lantus. Is this correct? I'm still happy getting results in a less stressed environment, but I don't want to be comparing results to the curve she drew if they the shouldn't be matching. I tried searching the forums but didn't see anything that fit what I was looking for.

Thoughts? I'm attaching a photo of the curve she drew. Thanks in advance, I'll check back in when I can. I'm doing the testing on Sunday so I wanted to have some thoughts down before then in case I need to call and discuss with her. Cheers!

Attached Files:

2. Wendy&Neko

Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator