Learning the ins and outs of PZI dosing

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Caroline17, Mar 20, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Caroline17

Caroline17 Member

hello! I've chatted with some of you on other forums and am so impressed by how much everyone cares as well as how much knowledge you all have!

Now, on to my question. I've got Vonn's spreadsheet in my signature. Currently he's prescribed 4.5 units of PZI twice daily. This morning his BG was 136. This evening it's 181. I don't want to go the whole 4.5 units. My gut is telling me 2 units but I'm still learning this. Thoughts?

2. JanetNJ

JanetNJ Well-Known Member

good job getting the spreadsheet going! I think it's a VERY GOOD CALL to reduce. I have a feeling he's been needing a reduction for some time. 181 is actually pretty low. I'm inclined to say not more than 1 and then monitor what his level is at +5 or 6.

those high 500's a few days ago are almost surly a BOUNCE from going way too low when you shot 4 when he was just 289.

Honestly, and I'll let other people with more PZI experience way in on this... I would do 1 tonight and then see what it is tomorrow... and if it's in the 200's kind of "start over" at a low dose of 1 or 1.5 for a few days. He's got lots of crazy bouncing numbers... no doubt it's making him feel kinda crappy. we have to get those numbers more regulated.

I had to copy and paste your spreadsheet address... can you instead make it a clickable hyperlink?

Caroline17 likes this.
  3. Caroline17

Caroline17 Member

I was not a good mom when it came to testing. Those almost 600 BG levels were last year when we had to hit the e vet for super high levels. Today was the first time I've tested since December

4. Djamila

Djamila Well-Known Member