LOTUS PMPS +7 58 +7.5 56 +8.54 +8.75 77 +9.25 117

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Cathy S, Aug 16, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cathy S

    Cathy S Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Re: 8/16 LOTUS PMPS 268/PMPS+1 248/+2 195/+3 130

    it is getting worse by the minute.
     
  2. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 8/16 LOTUS PMPS 268/PMPS+1 248/+2 195/+3 130

    Do you have any medium carb food in the 11-15% range to give her? I think you need to get her stopped and going up so you can go to bed.

    I'd feed her a little of the higher carb food and retest in 30 minutes. I'll be here.
     
  3. Cathy S

    Cathy S Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Re: 8/16 LOTUS PMPS 268/PMPS+1 248/+2 195/+3 130

    what I don't understand is why 7.2 in Canada is considered to be a good reading when 7.2 x 18 or 130 in the Us is considered to be bad? I break out the friskies with gravy.
     
  4. Cathy S

    Cathy S Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Re: 8/16 LOTUS PMPS 268/PMPS+1 248/+2 195/+3 130

    she is eating the friskies now.
     
  5. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 8/16 LOTUS PMPS 268/PMPS+1 248/+2 195/+3 130

    I'm not sure what you mean. 130 is not a bad number. It's not quite in the normal range of 50-120 but there is nothing wrong with it at all.

    The only reason I suggest the higher carb ( not high carb) is to slow her down so you can get some rest. If you were well and rested, I would recommend something different.
     
  6. Cathy S

    Cathy S Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Re: 8/16 LOTUS PMPS 268/PMPS+1 248/+2 195/+3 130

    oh now I understand. I think I am getting a little punch drunk here. I don't know why I am complaining it isn't even your cat and you are hanging in with me. Plus I see you have a little one of your own. I mean a real baby to look after. Goodness knows your days must
    be full already:)
    She has finished eating drank all the gravy and a few bits and has wandered off to lie in front of the fan.
     
  7. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 8/16 LOTUS PMPS 268/PMPS+1 248/+2 195/+3 130

    No..Dale has a baby girl that is human :lol: I just have my baby girl Gracie... My little brown furry girl :D

    My hubby is here tonight to help with cats.

    We don't want to over feed Lotus...just slow her down.
     
  8. Cathy S

    Cathy S Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Re: 8/16 LOTUS PMPS 268/PMPS+1 248/+2 195/+3 130/+3.5 102.6

    she gone down to 102.6 so I have given her a bit more food but she has just licked at the gravy and not really eaten anything. I
    will test again in 30 minutes and see how she is then.
     
  9. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 8/16 LOTUS PMPS 268/PMPS+1 248/+2 195/+3 130/+3.5 102.6

    I'd give 30 mins between when you feed and test again. Great she is slowing down...great job. See you soon.
     
  10. Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor

    Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Re: 8/16 LOTUS PMPS 268/PMPS+1 248/+2 195/+3 130/+3.5 102.6

    Greetings, CATHY! Jane here.

    [​IMG]

    Hi Marje - I'm all caught up now :mrgreen: Quite the little drama queen, Lotus, aren't ya! How's about taking it down a notch? :lol:

    Cathy, we've only crossed condo-paths a couple of times. You may remember seeing a post from me saying I'm in South Africa. It's morning here, so even if Marje needs to go, I'll be hanging out with you, k? You won't be alone. Lotus is one very lucky cat to have you as her mama bean (we call human beings "beans" here :smile:)!

    Waiting for the next BG.
    Jane
     
  11. Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor

    Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Re: 8/16 LOTUS PMPS 268/PMPS+1 248/+2 195/+3 130/+3.5 102.6

    I think it's time for the (+4) - any BG reading yet, Cathy?

    Jane
     
  12. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 8/16 LOTUS PMPS 268/PMPS+1 248/+2 195/+3 130/+3.5 102.6

    I'm here, too, still.... :D :D
     
  13. Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor

    Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Re: 8/16 LOTUS PMPS 268/PMPS+1 248/+2 195/+3 130/+3.5 102.6

    Greetings, Queen Marje :mrgreen:
     
  14. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 8/16 LOTUS PMPS 268/PMPS+1 248/+2 195/+3 130/+3.5 102.6

    Cathy was lucky today....I did not pull the Borg Queen (resistance is futile) on her today about shooting. AAhhhhh....another day and she'll feel the futility of resistance ;-) ;-)
     
  15. Cathy S

    Cathy S Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Re: 8/16 LOTUS PMPS 268/+1 248/+2 195/+3 130/+3.5 102.6/+110

    Sorry I was dozing! It appears she is on her way up again she is at 110.
     
  16. Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor

    Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Re: 8/16 LOTUS PMPS 268/+1 248/+2 195/+3 130/+3.5 102.6/+110

    This would be considered a "SURF" (hanging out in a certain range of BGs) rather than a "RISE" (a noteable increase in BG numbers), Cathy. We LOVE to see surfing around here!

    Can you stay up some more? I wouldn't leave this cycle to its own devices quite yet.

    Jane
     
  17. Cathy S

    Cathy S Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Re: 8/16 LOTUS PMPS 268/+1 248/+2 195/+3 130/+3.5 102.6/+110

    Hi everybody,
    Sorry I kept you waiting. i tried to explain to a friend today why we had to keep checking their blood sugars and she keeps comparing the cat to a friend who is on insulin (and very well regulated) But what I don't think she really believe was what a fantastic support
    group this is. I have tears in my eyes just thinking of you all out there all over the world literally waiting to find out what was happening.
     
  18. Cathy S

    Cathy S Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Re: 8/16 LOTUS PMPS 268/+1 248/+2 195/+3 130/+3.5 102.6/+110

    I will try to stay awake. In fact how about if I set the alarm for a half hour which would be 20 to one? and then do it then or
    should I wait an hour this time?
     
  19. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 8/16 LOTUS PMPS 268/+1 248/+2 195/+3 130/+3.5 102.6/+110

    Great. Cathy, dear.....Jane...the most awesome and incredible Jane...is going to stay up with you because it is daytime for her and Lotus is not booming down anymore!! YAY....great job!!!

    I know I said I'd stay up with you and if Jane hadn't come on....I'd be here. But my little darling baby girl has decided to give me the night off when normally I am up at least twice with her every night. So why don't you
    snooze for an hour and then check her again....Jane will then let you know whether it's safe to call it a night.

    I hope that's all ok with you??? Sending you big hugs and dreams of everything wonderful when you do get to sleep. [​IMG]

    you did really super today!
     
  20. Cathy S

    Cathy S Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Re: 8/16 LOTUS PMPS 268/+1 248/+2 195/+3 130/+3.5 102.6/+110

    Thanks so much Marje you have been a total wonder. I will set the alarm for one hour and recheck.
     
  21. Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor

    Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Re: 8/16 LOTUS PMPS 268/+1 248/+2 195/+3 130/+3.5 102.6/+110

    The Queen has spoken. Resistance is futile. :mrgreen: Oh and, "the most awesome and incredible Jane"... I think that's how I'll introduce myself from now on :lol:

    Sorry about the inside jokes, Cathy - you'll catch on fast and you'll be making them yourself soon! We like to have a little fun when the drama subsides ;-) Marje is right, you did a TERRIFIC job tonight! Set your alarm for 1 hour from the last test (+4), and post here. I will be here waiting for your update, and then we'll see where you can go from there - bed or not, alright?

    Jane
     
  22. Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor

    Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Re: 8/16 LOTUS PMPS 268/+1 248/+2 195/+3 130/+3.5 102.6/+110

    Any update yet, Cathy?
    Jane
     
  23. Cathy S

    Cathy S Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Re: LOTUS PMPS 268/+1 248/+2 195/+3 130/+3.5 102.6/+110/+4 1

    she is sort of in the same area. still surfing? sORRY but that is it for both of us. we need to get some sleep. thanks so much to everyone. it didn't all fit in the line. she is 115 or maybe this is the slight rise?
     
  24. Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor

    Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Re: LOTUS PMPS 268/+1 248/+2 195/+3 130/+3.5 102.6/+110/+4 1

    Cathy, you've done beautifully.

    Yes, this is a very nice surf.

    I would suggest you set an alarm for one last check at (+7) or so, to be certain Lotus isn't planning a surprise.

    If you can't do that because you're just too exhausted, I'd leave out some MC (medium carb) food, just in case. Many cats will eat when they feel they're going low, and with Lotus having been VERY low in the past, I'd feel better knowing she's got food ready if she needs it.

    Do you think you can get that last BG test at (+7)? She *should* be at or past her nadir (lowest point) by then.
    Jane
     
  25. Cathy S

    Cathy S Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Re: LOTUS PMPS 268/+1 248/+2 195/+3 130/+3.5 102.6/+110/+4 1

    i will set my alarm for 3.00 a.m. it is now 1.36 a.m. here and get back to you. thanks so much
     
  26. Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor

    Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Re: LOTUS PMPS 268/+1 248/+2 195/+3 130/+3.5 102.6/+110/+4 1

    You're very welcome. I'll watch for your BG update. GREAT job, Cathy!
    Get some rest :mrgreen:

    Jane
     
  27. Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor

    Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    RECAP of LOTUS's Recent BGs

    Some notes:
    --- Cathy, we round up or down (UP when the number is from, for example, 48.5 to 48.9, and DOWN when the number is from 48.4 to 48.1).
    --- Also, please update your SS when you have a chance. When you get tests between the full (+ Hour)-marks, you can enter them in the (+ Hour)-box they are leading up to, by stacking the BGs you enter, or you can enter it into the "Remarks" section. SO, when you get a (+2.5), you can enter it in the (+3)-box, before the (+3)-BG entry. Make sense? If you look at other speadsheets - Sienne and Gabby's for instance - you can see how "stacking" the SS-entires works. Here's a picture of what it looks like (an excerpt from Sienne/Gabby's SS):
    [​IMG]
    --- For loooong threads like this one, it can help to create a Recap (Overview) like I've done for you here. As you noticed yourself, one can't fit all the updated BG numbers into the subject line sometimes, and overall, with very extensive threads, it can be very easy to miss important BG updates and other crucial information.
    --- When you've had some sleep, please do follow Marje's suggestion to READ OVER THIS THREAD again. A few times. It will help you get a sense not only of how to handle situations like these, but also of your own excellent coping skills. You did GREAT. You reached out when you needed to, you vented a bit (which is GOOD, as you don't want to be all pent-up and stressed around Lotus, who's getting so much anxious attention already), you kept posting, you kept asking when you didn't understand something. It's important that you realize this, so that you can give yourself a pat on the back and feel more and more confident.

    I'm around for a while, and I'll be looking out for that BG update.
    Great job!!
    [​IMG]
    Jane
     
  28. Cathy S

    Cathy S Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Re: LOTUS PMPS 268/+1 248/+2 195/+3 130/+3.5 102.6/+110/+4 1

    she has gone down to 3.2 or 3.2 x 18 which will be 57.6 right? should I be getting some food into her?
     
  29. Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor

    Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Re: LOTUS PMPS 268/+1 248/+2 195/+3 130/+3.5 102.6/+110/+4 1

    First: Breathe. Don't panic.

    Give her some HC, a teaspoon, and re-test in 15 minutes, ok? Normally, we would suggest you feed HC (high carb) for sub-50 (metric, sub-2.8). But since Lotus has a history of going VERY low, I'd rather be a bit more careful than usual.

    Also, delete the (+1), (+2) and (+3) from your subject line, and add the mosr recent BG (+7ish).

    Jane
     
  30. Cathy S

    Cathy S Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Re: LOTUS PMPS 268/+1 248/+2 195/+3 130/+3.5 102.6/+110/+4 1

    i put it in front of her but all she did was lick up the gravy and didn't eat anything. I will test in 15 minutes which will be 3.30
    here.
     
  31. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: LOTUS PMPS 268/+1 248/+2 195/+3 130/+3.5 102.6/+110/+4 1

    The gravy is where most of the carbs come from, so Lotus knows what she's doing ;-)
     
  32. Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor

    Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Re: LOTUS PMPS 268/+1 248/+2 195/+3 130/+3.5 102.6/+110/+4 1

    Ok, Cathy.

    The gravy is where the carbs are, so if she's eating that, great. Post as soon as you have the next BG in 15 minutes. Then we'll see if she's coming up with the gravy or if she needs more.

    JUST IN CASE, do you have karo/syrup/honey in the house? Do you have enough test strips left?

    Keep breathing! You'll be fine.
    Jane
     
  33. Cathy S

    Cathy S Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Re: LOTUS PMPS 268 +6.5 57.6

    Yes I have lots of strips and lots of gravy food, syrup tuna etc.
     
  34. Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor

    Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Re: LOTUS PMPS 268 +6.5 57.6

    LOL, Dyana, we were cross-posting again :mrgreen:

    CATHY, can you please edit the sbuject line one more time from 57.6 to 58? (We round up/down to avoid decimal points and confusion.) Great that you have all the supplies. Now we'll just babysit this cycle until Lotus rises into safe ranges and stabilizes. Maybe grab some coffee - you may have to be up a while yet.

    Thanks!
    Jane
     
  35. Cathy S

    Cathy S Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Re: LOTUS PMPS 268 +6.5 58/+6.45 56

    has gone from 58 to 56. should i try to get more gravy into her heat it up or try to feed her tuna or syrup on the gums
     
  36. Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor

    Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Re: LOTUS PMPS 268 +6.5 58/+6.45 56

    Cathy,

    please correct your subject line to (+7.5ish) 56 (not +6.45).

    Please feed another teaspoon HC gravy. (Again, I'm being more aggressive with the carbs-advice, given Lotus's history.) RE-TEST in 15 MINUTES, please.

    Jane
     
  37. Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor

    Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Re: LOTUS PMPS 268/+1 248/+2 195/+3 130/+3.5 102.6/+110/+4 1

    Corrected Post.
     
  38. Cathy S

    Cathy S Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Re: LOTUS PMPS 268 +6.5 58/+6.75 56

    Ok i warmed it up a bit and had to force the gravy onto her lips but she finally started licking it up and actually ate a couple of
    chunks, maybe half a tablespoon. it is now 3.47 will retest at 4.02
     
  39. Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor

    Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Re: LOTUS PMPS 268 +6.5 58/+6.75 56

    Great. I'm here waiting :mrgreen:
    Jane
     
  40. Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor

    Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Re: LOTUS PMPS 268 +6.5 58/+6.75 56

    BG update?
     
  41. Cathy S

    Cathy S Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Re: LOTUS PMPS 268 +6.5 58/+6.75 56/+7 54

    no good dropped again more food
     
  42. Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor

    Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Re: LOTUS PMPS 268 +6.5 58/+6.75 56/+7 54

    Okay, Cathy. Lotus is making you work for it! Surfing (not really dropping), but not rising. I would give another tsp HC gravy, and retest in 15 minutes. (We call this "Lather, Rinse, Repeat" :mrgreen:)

    We want to see 2 rising numbers in a row, and so far Lotus isn't giving us that. Sorry you're losing sleep - maybe get coffee. Hang in there.

    So, 1 tsp gravy, retest in 15. Okay?
    Jane
     
  43. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: LOTUS PMPS 268 +6.5 58/+6.75 56/+7 54

    You're doing good. Keep feeding and keep testing.
    Jane thanks for being here for Lotus this morning.
     
  44. Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor

    Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Re: LOTUS PMPS 268/+1 248/+2 195/+3 130/+3.5 102.6/+110/+4 1

    UPDATED and CORRECTED LOTUS BG Recap

    16th August
    AMBG 54 --- NO shot given (hence no AMPS). Ate 3 TBSP.
    (+0.3) 54 --- Food taken away.
    (+1) 49 --- Dose REDUCTION to 0.5u earned.
    (+2) 63 --- Talk with vet. Lotus taken to vet to check pancreatic nodule and possible inflammation etc. No further problems diagnosed.
    (+7) 199
    (+11) 199 --- Ate 4 mouthfuls. Food taken away. Listed as "200" on SS, please correct. 23 hours after last shot.
    PMPS 268 --- Shot 0.5u (at 8pm Cathy's local time).
    (+1) 248
    (+2) 195
    (+3) 130 --- 11pm Cathy's local time.
    (+3.5) 103 --- Again, rounded up from 102.6.
    (+4.25) 110 --- Nice surf. Marje went sleepus. Jane took over.
    (+5.5) 115 --- Still surfing.
    (+7ish) 58 --- Fed HC gravy 1 tsp (despite no sub-50 BG, given Lotus's history of going VERY low).
    (+7.5ish) Pending...
     
  45. Cathy S

    Cathy S Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Re: LOTUS PMPS 268 +6.5 58/+6.75 56/+7 54

    ok she is licking and chewing some chunks right now when she finishes i will time from there. i expect tomorrow she will pack her bags and leave. her poor ears are like pin cushions.
     
  46. Cathy S

    Cathy S Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Re: LOTUS PMPS 268 +6.5 58/+6.75 56/+7 54

    ok it is roughly 4.20 be back in about 15 minutes.
     
  47. Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor

    Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Re: LOTUS PMPS 268 +6.5 58/+6.75 56/+7 54

    (((Lotus))) (((Cathy)))

    Try to feed more gravy than chunks, ok, Cathy? We don't want her to feel full yet, in case she's got more excitement planned and we need her to eat again.

    Regarding the ears: Have you got Neosporin for pain relief in the house? You can dab a tiny bit on her ear(s) to help with the discomfort. (You can do this just before testing, on days like these, too - it can help make the poke less uncomfortable.)

    I'll be waiting for your next BG. One question: Can you remind me when your shot time was in your local time (I think it was 7pm?), and then post your local time for the next BG-test update too? I want to make sure I get the Recap Updates right. :mrgreen:

    You're a trooper, well done so far!
    Jane
     
  48. Cathy S

    Cathy S Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Re: LOTUS PMPS 268 +6.5 58/+6.75 56/+7 54

    she received 1/2 unit of insulin at 8:00 pm my time it is now 4.29 am local time here
     
  49. Cathy S

    Cathy S Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Re: LOTUS PMPS 268 +6.5 58/+6.75 56/+7 54/7.45 77

    sorry to be so long. the cats rosie and lotus decided to have a fight. separated them getting bit in the process. then the meter kept giving me an error. finally got it fixed. she is going up again is now at 77 should i wait 30 minutes before testing again
     
  50. Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor

    Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Re: LOTUS PMPS 268 +6.5 58/+6.75 56/+7 54

    UPDATED and CORRECTED LOTUS BG Recap

    16th August
    AMBG 54 --- NO shot given (hence no AMPS). Ate 3 TBSP.
    (+0.3) 54 --- Food taken away.
    (+1) 49 --- Dose REDUCTION to 0.5u earned.
    (+2) 63 --- Talk with vet. Lotus taken to vet to check pancreatic nodule and possible inflammation etc. No further problems diagnosed.
    (+7) 199
    (+11) 199 --- Ate 4 mouthfuls. Food taken away. Listed as "200" on SS, please correct. 23 hours after last shot.
    PMPS 268 --- Shot 0.5u (at 8pm Cathy's local time).
    (+1) 248
    (+2) 195
    (+3) 130 --- 11pm Cathy's local time.
    (+3.5) 103 --- Again, rounded up from 102.6.
    (+4.25) 110 --- Nice surf. Marje went sleepus. Jane took over.
    (+5.5) 115 --- Still surfing.
    (+7ish) 58 --- Fed HC gravy 1 tsp (despite no sub-50 BG, given Lotus's history of going VERY low).
    (+7.5ish) 56 --- Fed warmed HC gravy and food, ca. 1.5 tsp.
    (+8ish) 54 --- Feeding HC gravy (at +8.25)
    (+8.75ish) 77 --- Retesting in 30 minutes.
    (+9.25) Pending...
     
  51. Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor

    Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Re: LOTUS PMPS 268 +6.5 58/+6.75 56/+7 54/7.45 77

    Sorry about the catfight!

    Yes, you're good to wait 30 minutes. That will be your (+9.25).

    I'll be here.
    Jane
     
  52. Cathy S

    Cathy S Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Re: LOTUS PMPS 268 +6.5 58/+6.75 56/+7 54/7.45 77

    If she is still going up is it safe to go to sleep?
     
  53. Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor

    Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Re: LOTUS PMPS 268 +6.5 58/+6.75 56/+7 54/7.45 77

    It will depend on what number we see. Let's get the test, and then decide, ok? Even though it's late in the cycle, cats *can* wobble back down. We'll know more with the next BG. Hang in there!
    Jane
     
  54. Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor

    Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Re: LOTUS PMPS 268 +6.5 58/+6.75 56/+7 54/7.45 77

    Cathy, one other thing - I've gone over and over the timing of the RECAP, and I've corrected and worked out the accurate times. Can you adjust your subject line, please? It should read:

    LOTUS PMPS 268 +7 58 +7.5 56 +8 54 +8.75 77

    (The tests really happened at +7ish, not on the dot at +7, and so on, but that would get confusing in the subject line.)

    Thanks! It's now coming up on +9.25 (based on your local time).
    Jane
     
  55. Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor

    Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Re: LOTUS PMPS 268 +6.5 58/+6.75 56/+7 54/7.45 77

    BG update?
     
  56. Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor

    Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Cathy, I saw the update in your subject line. If you *just* got that test, then it's not +9.25, it's actually +9:5, ok?
     
  57. Cathy S

    Cathy S Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    i TOOK the test at 5.15 I just had a problem getting it online. sorry. i took the time from your last email regarding the subject line
     
  58. Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor

    Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Ok, Cathy, you did great! Hope you're still around to read this :smile:

    Please set an alarm and get a (+11) (which would be your 7am) or even a (+11.5), so that when you test for the AMPS, we know where it is coming from (rising/dropping/surfing number).

    Also, in order for you to avoid extra drama and be confident shooting, you can reduce your dose to 0.25u (even though Lotus did not drop below 50). I've had a quick exchange with Sienne about this and she is of the same mind. You also have the option of skipping the upcoming AM-shot altogether - Sienne noted that you may have to go get x-rays etc. and if Lotus is not rising notably, skipping the shot is a very safe option, especially if you have to leave the house. So, we'd reconvene in an hour and a half or so to re-assess.

    How does that sound for a plan?

    YOU DID GREAT!!

    Jane
     
  59. Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor

    Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Ok, great! Then I'll add it to the Recap as +9:25 :smile: Please forgive me if I came off as pushy, I didn't mean it like that. Just wanted to be sure I got the Recap right :mrgreen:

    UPDATED and CORRECTED LOTUS BG Recap

    16th August
    AMBG 54 --- NO shot given (hence no AMPS). Ate 3 TBSP.
    (+0.3) 54 --- Food taken away.
    (+1) 49 --- Dose REDUCTION to 0.5u earned.
    (+2) 63 --- Talk with vet. Lotus taken to vet to check pancreatic nodule and possible inflammation etc. No further problems diagnosed.
    (+7) 199
    (+11) 199 --- Ate 4 mouthfuls. Food taken away. Listed as "200" on SS, please correct. 23 hours after last shot.
    PMPS 268 --- Shot 0.5u (at 8pm Cathy's local time).
    (+1) 248
    (+2) 195
    (+3) 130 --- 11pm Cathy's local time.
    (+3.5) 103 --- Again, rounded up from 102.6.
    (+4.25) 110 --- Nice surf. Marje went sleepus. Jane took over.
    (+5.5) 115 --- Still surfing.
    (+7ish) 58 --- Fed HC gravy 1 tsp (despite no sub-50 BG, given Lotus's history of going VERY low).
    (+7.5ish) 56 --- Fed warmed HC gravy and food, ca. 1.5 tsp.
    (+8ish) 54 --- Feeding HC gravy (at +8.25)
    (+8.75ish) 77 --- Retesting in 30 minutes.
    (+9.25) 117
    (+11) or (+11.5) Pending... Dose reduction to 0.25u suggested to help lessen the drama!
     
  60. Cathy S

    Cathy S Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Yes I am still here. I will test her at 7.15 post and then retest at 8.00 a.m.and shoot 1/4 only thanks for sticking with it.
     
  61. Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor

    Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Perfect, Cathy! You rock like granite :mrgreen:

    One note (I think I edited to add that post before you saw it): IF Lotus does not show you a notably rising number at AMPS, and if you need to leave the house for anything and can't stay with her the whole time, you ALSO have the option of skipping the shot altogether. It's a very safe option especially if you're not around to monitor and if the AMPS isn't showing a bounce/notable rise.

    We'll re-assess when we have the (+11.5) or so (which would be 7:30am for you) and then the AMPS, and when we can see what the trend is. OK?

    Jane

    And of course: YOU'RE VERY WELCOME :mrgreen: It was great to be able to help.
     
  62. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Wow! I missed all of the excitement.

    You did a phenomenal job last night/this morning. Although, I suspect this must seem a bit like hazing. I can just imagine Lotus thinking, "If you're gonna poke me, I'm keeping you awake!"

    I agree with Jane about reducing the dose. While it's not "officially" the way we reduce (i.e., Lotus didn't drop below 50), if you are working this hard to keep the numbers up, it can make sense to reduce the dose.
     
  63. Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor

    Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    [​IMG]

    I'm not sure where you want to post your next BG update: You have the option of starting a new thread/condo for the new upcoming cycle, too, if you don't want to make this one even longer :smile: I'll look out for your update here and also look for a new condo, just in case.

    At some point today, when you've had a chance to rest and hopefully aren't having to watch the cycle like a hawk, remember to try and go over this whole thread again - maybe print it out, if you can and want to, to have a better overview. There's a lot of information that you were given in all the posts, and it takes time to absorb all that.

    This was quite a baptism by fire! Fingers crossed for a cycle with less drama next!
    Jane
     
  64. Cathy S

    Cathy S Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Re: LOTUS PMPS +7 58 +7.5 56 +8.54 +8.75 77 +9.25 117+23. 92

    new figures for 7.15 a.m. I POSTED under a new thread as this one is getting too big. someone said the time would be differrent
    any she went down from 117 to 92. so she is around 5.1 whichmeans no insulin in our criteria and yes I have to be out to the hospital so i am going to skip the shot.
     
  65. Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor

    Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    UPDATED and CORRECTED LOTUS BG Recap

    16th August
    AMBG 54 --- NO shot given (hence no AMPS). Ate 3 TBSP.
    (+0.3) 54 --- Food taken away.
    (+1) 49 --- Dose REDUCTION to 0.5u earned.
    (+2) 63 --- Talk with vet. Lotus taken to vet to check pancreatic nodule and possible inflammation etc. No further problems diagnosed.
    (+7) 199
    (+11) 199 --- Ate 4 mouthfuls. Food taken away. Listed as "200" on SS, please correct. 23 hours after last shot.
    PMPS 268 --- Shot 0.5u (at 8pm Cathy's local time).
    (+1) 248
    (+2) 195
    (+3) 130 --- 11pm Cathy's local time.
    (+3.5) 103 --- Again, rounded up from 102.6.
    (+4.25) 110 --- Nice surf. Marje went sleepus. Jane took over.
    (+5.5) 115 --- Still surfing.
    (+7ish) 58 --- Fed HC gravy 1 tsp (despite no sub-50 BG, given Lotus's history of going VERY low).
    (+7.5ish) 56 --- Fed warmed HC gravy and food, ca. 1.5 tsp.
    (+8ish) 54 --- Feeding HC gravy (at +8.25)
    (+8.75ish) 77 --- Retesting in 30 minutes.
    (+9.25) 117
    (+11.25) 92 --- Dose reduction to 0.25u suggested to help lessen the drama.


    Hello again Cathy! I hope you got some rest :smile: I would suggest yu begin a new thread/condo when you have your AMPS. All you have to do then is put that AMPS in the subject line, as with any new condo. And then I would copy the Recap above (which includes the (+11.25) BG of 92 you just got - it's not actually a (+23), since you did not skip the PM shot) in your very first post, so people know where you are coming from. (I would also add the link to *this* thread - do you know how to do that or would you like instructions?)

    Based on the 92 you just got, I think it's unlikely we'll advise you to shoot, but let's wait and see until AMPS. Ok?
    Jane
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page