Low AMPS stalling please advise

Status
Not open for further replies.
I don't know what 9.5 & 8 translates too. Can you enter it into your SS so I can look at the converted numbers? Since you fed, I'll likely advise you to be off schedule and not shoot for 2 hours. Can you be that far off schedule?
 
I don't know what 9.5 & 8 translates too. Can you enter it into your SS so I can look at the converted numbers? Since you fed, I'll likely advise you to be off schedule and not shoot for 2 hours. Can you be that far off schedule?
Thank you just updated my SS right now. It was 171 and then after 30 mins food it was 144.
 
Looks like she is responding to the increase which is great and thanks for update the SS :) Under TR we will work our way to shooting anything over 50. When you have a lower preshot than you've shot before as long as you can monitor, have plenty of strips, HC food etc. we'd likely recommend shooting especially a 171 then you get a +1 & +2 to start with. Stalling without food is a good option for next time. Since you fed and don't have much data I would not shoot for 2 hours after you fed her this morning. Can you be that far off schedule and work your way back?

Getting back on schedule would be shooting early 30 min. once a day or 15 min. twice a day until back on schedule.
Shooting Schedule_Getting Back On Time
 
So should I wait 2 hours from her AMPS (her BG this AM as I didn't shoot) and test again and then shoot? I can be here to test and shoot them. What number does it need to be above before shooting? Is it ok to shoot so late/far off from her usually schedule? This is all new to me this is only day 7 of Tinka being diagnosed and on insulin (Lantus).
 
Are you able to monitor? If you are able to monitor today (have strips and high carb food, on hand), I would take this opportunity to shoot now, rather than wait...these are perfect numbers for shooting, but since they are the lowest you've shot, you would want to be able to get some early tests in to make sure all is well.

If you shoot 2 hours late, it will throw your schedule off - your next shot will be 12 hours from when you do shoot.
 
Are you able to monitor? If you are able to monitor today (have strips and high carb food, on hand), I would take this opportunity to shoot now, rather than wait...these are perfect numbers for shooting, but since they are the lowest you've shot, you would want to be able to get some early tests in to make sure all is well.

If you shoot 2 hours late, it will throw your schedule off - your next shot will be 12 hours from when you do shoot.
Yes I could monitor at home today. I have 2 cans of Royal canine hypoallergenic if needed. Not sure if it's high carb? I also hv some raw booste mixers by instinct which may be high carb. The drop may be because I took her off 1/8 steroid yesterday.
 
I'm not sure if that's high carb or not. I've always used Fancy Feast Gravy lovers here. Karo or maple syrup mixed with a little regular food works. You'll only need high carb if she drops below 50 on your meter, though - hopefully she'll surf it and you won't need high carb at all!

Also - do you have lots of tests trips on hand, just in case? You don't want to shoot your first lowest number and then not have enough strips for testing.

Drops can happen for any number of reasons...steroids, or she's settling into being on insulin. It's always a guessing game.

So, it is up to you...if you do shoot, please keep us posted so we can keep tabs. You can update your subject line with her values as the day progresses.

If you shoot, start by testing at +1 and +2, and we'll go from there.
 
So should I shoot 0.75u now then? It's now +1 since her AM BG. Should I test again now? Although the food will prob affect her BG?
 
I'm not sure if that's high carb or not. I've always used Fancy Feast Gravy lovers here. Karo or maple syrup mixed with a little regular food works. You'll only need high carb if she drops below 50 on your meter, though - hopefully she'll surf it and you won't need high carb at all!

Also - do you have lots of tests trips on hand, just in case? You don't want to shoot your first lowest number and then not have enough strips for testing.

Drops can happen for any number of reasons...steroids, or she's settling into being on insulin. It's always a guessing game.

So, it is up to you...if you do shoot, please keep us posted so we can keep tabs. You can update your subject line with her values as the day progresses.

If you shoot, start by testing at +1 and +2, and we'll go from there.
I have honey and possibly maple syrup too. I have some other cans that I dont feed her that may be high carb, as she has skin allergies so nome are suitable for her skin but as a one off would be OK. Thank you for your help!
 
I would shoot now...it wouldn't hurt to test before shooting just so you have a starting point but yes, the food will probably have some effect so that's just something to keep in mind.

Also remember that tonight you'll be shooting an hour later than you usually do - 12 hours from when you shoot this morning.
 
I have honey and possibly maple syrup too. I have some other cans that I dont feed her that may be high carb, as she has skin allergies so nome are suitable for her skin but as a one off would be OK. Thank you for your help!
Honey and maple syrup should work, too. Good to know that she can't have "typical" HC foods!
 
I would shoot now...it wouldn't hurt to test before shooting just so you have a starting point but yes, the food will probably have some effect so that's just something to keep in mind.

Also remember that tonight you'll be shooting an hour later than you usually do - 12 hours from when you shoot this morning.
Ok so I just took her +1 since her AM BG and since she was fed and its even lower 6.2 which is 112. Maybe I should wait a bit longer? Maybe another hr? I can shoot later tonight if needed and then work back in half hour increments each day?If I wait what should I be looking for, that number to rise in an hour?
 
It's totally up to you, but a lot of times stalling is a double-edged sword....it can throw you off schedule but not produce any worthwhile data, as Lantus generally works best when given in 12 hour intervals.

However, it is completely your decision - you have to do whatever you're comfortable with.
 
It's totally up to you, but a lot of times stalling is a double-edged sword....it can throw you off schedule but not produce any worthwhile data, as Lantus generally works best when given in 12 hour intervals.

However, it is completely your decision - you have to do whatever you're comfortable with.
I'm just nervous to shoot when it's so low. As the lowest iv ever shot at is 239 and that day, which was her first and same amount of units we saw her drop to a 74 so we couldn't do a PM shoot. Her skin is another issue iv just settled her on lamb and she's itching less so I took her off steroids. We hv run out of lamb though and they hv none where I live so I switched to another brand made with alligator which she ate last night but didn't really like and is likely lower in carbs. That's all I hv to feed today that won't flare her skin. I was planning to drive this afternoon to a city about an hour and a half away to buy more lamb instinct food. So I'm just concerned as she'll be eating lower carbs today and if I shoot and she goes too low I'll hv to give her food that I know will flare her skin plus I prob won't be able to drive to buy her the lamb as sooo hv to be here to monitor her. I prob feel more comfortable waiting a little longer but what is it I'm looking for if I wait, for her numbers to increase?
 
That's fine....whatever you're comfortable with.

I have to say I've got the same answer for the numbers, too....you have to decide what number you're comfortable shooting and set that as a target for you and Tinka.

One thing I will say...if you don't feel comfortable whatever number she gives you two hours after her usual shot time, at that point I personally would skip until this evening's shot.

Ultimately, your goal will be to feel comfortable shooting lower and lower numbers consistently on a 12/12 schedule - and that should happen over time, as you adjust to the whole sugar dance. If you find yourself in a position where you can't consistently shoot a 12/12 schedule because you're not comfortable with the numbers, then it would be time to reevaluate the dose.

I'm going to go do a few things around the house, but I'll check back shortly.
 
That's fine....whatever you're comfortable with.

I have to say I've got the same answer for the numbers, too....you have to decide what number you're comfortable shooting and set that as a target for you and Tinka.

One thing I will say...if you don't feel comfortable whatever number she gives you two hours after her usual shot time, at that point I personally would skip until this evening's shot.

Ultimately, your goal will be to feel comfortable shooting lower and lower numbers consistently on a 12/12 schedule - and that should happen over time, as you adjust to the whole sugar dance. If you find yourself in a position where you can't consistently shoot a 12/12 schedule because you're not comfortable with the numbers, then it would be time to reevaluate the dose.

I'm going to go do a few things around the house, but I'll check back shortly.
Thank you Amy:) Last nite we shot a little later than usual so her BG this morning was actually more like +11. So I just updated her SS. I just tested her BG (9:25am) and her +1 since her AM BG and since she was fed is now even lower at 6u which is 108. Usually she bumps up a bit after feeding. I'm not comfortable shooting that low so maybe instead of waiting even longer I'll skip this morning and give her an evening shot after doing her PMPS then as suggested. Is it bad to skip s shot though does it really throw things? Thank you!
 
At this point I'd just skip today. Go get everything you need. There's always a next time. Just my 2 cents.
Thanks Karen:) I think I will skip this AM's shot as its getting late. Can I still give her PM shot though as Amy suggested, if her PMPS numbers are up a bit? Thanks!
 
Skipping isn't ideal, but sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do. You'll eventually get comfortable shooting numbers like you had this morning - and even lower. That is the ultimate goal: to keep kitty in the normal range as much as possible.

If you find you're skipping often because you're not comfortable with the numbers, it would be better to reduce the dose so that you can consistently shoot twice a day...but we're not there yet.
 
Thanks Karen:) I think I will skip this AM's shot as its getting late. Can I still give her PM shot though as Amy suggested, if her PMPS numbers are up a bit? Thanks!
We'll see where she's at tonight. Think about what you'd feel comfortable shooting and consider that a target (that will be lowered over time!).
 
Skipping isn't ideal
I agree but she's pretty far off schedule, the kitty was fed and still dropping. There's not a lot of data, her comfort level is shakey and needs to get food.

It would be a good idea to get a few spot checks in today. It'll be good data for you in the future. Like Amy said, you'll have to work your way to shooting those numbers and over time even lower. :bighug::bighug:
 
We'll see where she's at tonight. Think about what you'd feel comfortable shooting and consider that a target (that will be lowered over time!).
Thanks Amy:) For an AMPS and PMPS at 0.75u right now I'd prob feel comfortable at like 11 mmol/L which is 198. Possibly a 10 / 180. So if I'm at those numbers this evening I could look to shoot then. I will take some more BG tests today and update, as well as her PMPS. Should I post on here or make a new thread?
 
Post in this thread - we liked to keep it to one thread per cat per day to help keep things "neat and tidy".

Fun Fact: we call "threads" "condos" here...as in "kitty condo". Gotta have a little bit of fun while dealing with the stress of FD!
 
I agree but she's pretty far off schedule, the kitty was fed and still dropping. There's not a lot of data, her comfort level is shakey and needs to get food.

It would be a good idea to get a few spot checks in today. It'll be good data for you in the future. Like Amy said, you'll have to work your way to shooting those numbers and over time even lower. :bighug::bighug:
Thanks Karen yeah that was my concern as she was fed but still dropping. As its early days I'm prob more comfortable shooting at an 11 / 198 or lowest 10 / 180. But over time I can work that number lower as you both said:) I will take some more BG tests today than usual to monitor her closely and update you all. Hopefully I can give her shot tonight if her PMPS is at a higher number.
 
Post in this thread - we liked to keep it to one thread per cat per day to help keep things "neat and tidy".

Fun Fact: we call "threads" "condos" here...as in "kitty condo". Gotta have a little bit of fun while dealing with the stress of FD!
Hee hee good to know thanks, got to hav a bit of fun indeed amoungst the stress ;) Thank you for both your help it's much appreciated!!!!!
 
I'd probably also feel comfortable shooting at a 10 possibly a 9 if I stalled feeding her and waited an hour and her BG was increasing :)
 
I'd probably also feel comfortable shooting at a 10 possibly a 9 if I stalled feeding her and waited an hour and her BG was increasing :)

What an exciting morning you've had Tanya!!

At first, when you're brand new, we tell people not to shoot under 200 unless there's someone here watching out for them, but once you have a little experience behind you and you've moved to the ISG, that number drops to 150 (8.3)

The first time you get a PS under 150, you'll want to stall, don't feed and post for help. We have a "rule" around here that if someone signs on to help you when you shoot low for the first time, they will stay with you as long as necessary or will find someone else to stay with you. We don't ever leave a newbie alone when they are shooting lower numbers for the first time

I know it sounds totally terrifying to shoot those lower numbers (I mean once you see a cat drop from 300 to 150 it's hard not to think that if you shoot a 150 that they're going to drop to zero but it doesn't work that way) but it's how Lantus works best.

Start looking at other people's spreadsheets.....You'll see that most of the time, when they shoot lower numbers, the whole range of numbers stays quite close.....instead of dropping a hundred or more points, they may stay within 10-20 points for the entire cycle.

China's a good example of shooting low....of course we didn't get there overnight either!! I had lots of hand-holding when we first started out too!!

Remember, since you skipped this morning, if you want to change your shot times, tonight is the perfect time to do it...You don't have to wait any specific amount of time since you didn't shoot this morning
 
What an exciting morning you've had Tanya!!

At first, when you're brand new, we tell people not to shoot under 200 unless there's someone here watching out for them, but once you have a little experience behind you and you've moved to the ISG, that number drops to 150 (8.3)

The first time you get a PS under 150, you'll want to stall, don't feed and post for help. We have a "rule" around here that if someone signs on to help you when you shoot low for the first time, they will stay with you as long as necessary or will find someone else to stay with you. We don't ever leave a newbie alone when they are shooting lower numbers for the first time

I know it sounds totally terrifying to shoot those lower numbers (I mean once you see a cat drop from 300 to 150 it's hard not to think that if you shoot a 150 that they're going to drop to zero but it doesn't work that way) but it's how Lantus works best.

Start looking at other people's spreadsheets.....You'll see that most of the time, when they shoot lower numbers, the whole range of numbers stays quite close.....instead of dropping a hundred or more points, they may stay within 10-20 points for the entire cycle.

China's a good example of shooting low....of course we didn't get there overnight either!! I had lots of hand-holding when we first started out too!!

Remember, since you skipped this morning, if you want to change your shot times, tonight is the perfect time to do it...You don't have to wait any specific amount of time since you didn't shoot this morning
Hi Chris thanks so much for hoot message! Yes it's been a very interesting morning with Tinka indeed! I think the decrease in BG could be 1. she's responding to the increased dose of insulin now 2. I took her off her steroids yesterday as she's responding well to the duet change to lamb and has been hardly scratching much since yest (yah!) 3. I gabe her a different food last night (Wild calling - allegator - as I'd run out of lamb and I wanted to give her something new and novel that hopefully wouldn't flare her skin which it hasn't) and it's a bit lower in carbs. Thank you next time we won't feed, today is the first morning in a week where I had decided to have a little more sleep as had a bad health night myself last night so hubby decided her do her AMPS, feed and shoot by himself. He didn't know you don't feed if her numbers are low but thankfully he woke me before he gave her shot so I could check with u all first:) Thank you that's good to know that info for next time.) I took her +2 reading and despite eating food she's still dropping a bit. Nothing to low though she's at a 5.9 but it's interesting it's still reducing despite missing the shot this morning. It was the last amount of lamb I fed her. Lunch I'll have too feed allegator then I'm going to drive to the city this aftern to buy her more intinct limited grain lamb. I'll try look for some lamb high carb options if they hv any for my hypo kit for future. It's hard finding a high carb that doesn't contain things that flare her. That's helpful I can move her shoot time this eve. May do it a bit earlier. I'll post some more of her numbers today as day progresses. I'll def check out China's spreadsheet shd others to get a better idea of the values and shooting. Thank you for your help!!
 
Last edited:
Hi all so I monitored Tinka pretty closely today after her low values this AM and missing her shot and she very slowly increased and seemed to have a good day You can see my SS for updated values. She dropped to 5.9 at +2, 6.8 +4, 13.5 +9 and by PMPS she was 16.6. So I administered 0.75u. If she is under 11 mmol/L tomorrow I will stall and post for help. Thanks so much!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top