Marvin finally responding to insulin

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Marshmallow's Mom, Sep 3, 2018.

  1. Marshmallow's Mom

    Marshmallow's Mom Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2018
    Hello,

    Marvin is finally starting to get some good numbers. I'm unsure, though, what to do if he is right at 200 PS and has just had some food.

    If it stays low when I test again in say, an hour, do I just skip the shot or give him a smaller amount than usual?

    Thank you
     
  2. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I wouldn't skip the shot but it's hard to know what to suggest We rely heavily on mid cycle numbers to judge a dose. Seeing some evening numbers is also helpful because many cats tend to run lower at night. Yesterday, 4 u in the AM got him down to 61 after an AMPS of 186. That's not very different from 202 so I wouldn't give more than 4 u tonight. For safety's sake I'd suggest something even lower like 3.75 u or 3.5 u.
     
    Rachel and JanetNJ like this.

Share This Page