Mass between civie's shoulder blades, home from surgery

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Jenny and Sue, Nov 18, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jenny and Sue

Jenny and Sue Member

I am freaking out. I have a female cat named Chicken who approx. 12-13 years old. I was just petting her and noticed that she had a large lump between her shoulder blades. Of course I googled it and came up with Vaccine associated sarcoma and now I'm really freaking out. I called the vet and left a message that I want an appt. ASAP. Does anyone have any experience with anything like this?

Thanks,
    Jenny

2. Larry and Kitties

Larry and Kitties Well-Known Member

Re: Mass between civvie's shoulder blades

I have no direct experience with VAS but from Yahoos feline cancer group the prognosis is not good if it is a VAS in the location you say. If surgically removed it tends to come back. That is why now that vaccinations are recommended below the shoulder so that if a VAS develops you can amputate which is frequently successful. The rabies vaccine seems to be the main culprit.

3. LynnLee + Mousie

LynnLee + Mousie Well-Known Member

i agree with your actions, get it looked at asap. buttttt, having a heart attack yourself tonight is no good either so again, gotta remember to breathe here.

i had a kitty with VAS but I'll leave it at that for now as we don't want to get ahead of ourselves just yet. should see what vet says first i think.

4. Jenny and Sue

Jenny and Sue Member

Thanks, Cindy. I'm calming down now. She hasn't had any vaccines since Dec. 2009. I will let you know as soon as I can get an appt.

5. Jill and Remi

Jill and Remi Member

Yes, do get it checked ASAP and let us know what the vet says. I also had a kitty that had VAS.
    •The lump is larger than 2cms
    •The lump persists for more than 3 months after vaccination
    •Any lump which continues to grow one month after vaccination