Maury's Progress - Month 4

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Yong & Maury GA, Apr 9, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Just getting new thread started :cat:. See how consistent I can hold the F2.25U / S2.5U
     
  2. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Wait....don't we get a new video too? :)
     
  3. Frank's Mom

    Frank's Mom Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2017
    What a great AMPS today! Quick question for you on that... On days that you're green and don't give a shot, do you still need to worry about hypos mid-cycle, or is that only something to worry about when you've given insulin? Trying to be proactive here in the hopes that one day Frank will give me some greens...even though I'll probably freal out when I get one.
     
  4. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    You shouldn't have to worry about a hypo after no shot. The insulin should be out of their system.
     
  5. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    What Rachel said :). No shot = No hypo. Least it was on a day I was going to be gone :D . Not a terrible bounce back up either, course I realized he didn't touch his lunch I left for him o_O
     
  6. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    What does the F & S mean?
     
  7. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Fat and Skinny
     
    Cherish Gallagher likes this.
  8. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Maury is being Pita's (Caitlin M) stalling buddy :cat::cat:
     
    Caitlin M, Sharon14 and Rachel like this.
  9. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Nice numbers last night even though that low dark green got your attention. I saw in your notes that he jumped from the bed to the window. Really good sign! :D
     
  10. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    I hope it's a good sign too, Kris! I was almost too excited to go back to bed, just wanted to give him lots of hugs and kisses :joyful:. But I contained myself and let him enjoy the window. I was only bold with the dose last night because I planned to monitor him. I always regretted the lower doses later when he started rising. I didn't even pull out the HC food, just MC :D. Another new experience under the FD tool belt :cat:. Numbers permitting, I'm going to try to hold the F2.25U for a bit longer. Hope the PS numbers start coming down again. So close to yellow :rolleyes:
     
  11. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Not going to say much about his SS (antijinxing) :smuggrin::smuggrin::smuggrin:
     
    Djamila likes this.
  12. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Looking good!
     
    Djamila and Yong & Maury GA like this.
  13. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Hmmm....Interesting...:bookworm::cool:
     
    Rachel and Yong & Maury GA like this.
  14. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Very happy with newer numbers but I'm starting to feel like Maury's appetite is decreasing. Any thoughts on if the two are related? I'm having to put his wet food in front of his face and follow him with the dish :facepalm:. I made a note the other day when he seemed to not want to eat at his usual station. I wiped it down really good with soap and water. First used an orange cleaner but thought the scent might deter him more so re-wiped with the soap and water. Just something new to make me go :confused:
     
    Cherish Gallagher likes this.
  15. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Has he been eating more because of his numbers, and maybe the lower appetite is a good thing? Or is he already not eating a lot? Maybe the change in food?
     
  16. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    If his BG is under better control he won't feel like he's starving all the time.
     
  17. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Eating a bit less. Usually a little more than half his meals and about half of his lunch. No change in food, just switching the LC for meals and MC for lunch. I'm hoping it's just because he's not a pate fan but that doesn't explain the lunch :confused:. Maybe he is better absorbing nutrients now. I also don't know how he "usually" ate before diabetes because he was primarily on free-fed dry.
     
  18. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Haha just saw Kris' post :D
     
  19. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Maybe try estimating his calorie intake to make sure he's getting enough? And keep an eye on his weight. And of course, ketones, but I know you're on top of that. Hopefully this is a good thing though and just an indication that he's getting more nutrients from food.
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
  20. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Guess we're reducing again! :cat: Instead of dropping to 2.0U, will try to do S2.25 / F2.0U first. Numbers permitting of course :D

    Also, best curve numbers on AT2! I always dreaded doing the curves because it reads higher haha. Probably would have been terrified with ReliOn readings today :smuggrin:
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  21. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    What the h---? He dropped nearly 100 points at +10?!?! Are you sure he didn't sneak into the fridge and give himself a dose?
     
  22. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Yeah lol. I had to look at the clock again, like --wait a minute... :confused:o_O. Maybe the short play with yarn did it? He gets a little feistier / squirmier for testing when he is in lower numbers, not dangerously low. That's also why I did an immediate second test ;)
     
  23. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Sam gets pretty sassy when he's feeling good too. Much easier to test and shoot when he doesn't feel well. :oops: There seems to be a trend of kitties wanting less insulin these days....
     
  24. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Just need those PS to come down ;)
     
  25. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    You got a good response on that AM cycle though! 378 to 106 is a pretty big drop!
     
  26. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    And not a terrible bounce (antijinx):D
     
  27. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Guess because the sun is out Maury is going for yellow to match :p
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  28. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    Hehehe. I'm hoping for a yellow or at least a pink PMPS tonight.
     
  29. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    If you consider the meter variation, her AMPS was pink :smuggrin:.
     
    Rachel and Cherish Gallagher like this.
  30. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    No yellow but got pink. Better than red. :) gave her a little reduction.
     
    Yong & Maury GA, Rachel and Djamila like this.
  31. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    :cat: Don't want to say much more (anti jinx anti jinx anti jinx) :cat:
     
    Lois and Java and Sharon14 like this.
  32. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    :)!!
     
  33. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
  34. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Is cheese considered contraband? :smuggrin: Specifically, Cracker Barrel sharp cheddar square slices? Maury took a bite when I was fiddling with the remote :rolleyes:
     
  35. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I think there's worse contraband than cheese slices!
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2017
  36. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    :D Definitely agree. We'll find out later lol
     
  37. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    My cats ADORE cheese.
     
  38. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Yup. Maury get's wide eyed like it's candy lol
     
  39. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Neither of mine will even touch it. I thought all cats loved cheese.
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
  40. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
  41. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Maury's so cute! :)
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
  42. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    He is SOOOOOO handsome! I love the faces he pulls when going after the yarn!
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
  43. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Me too! :cat: I love his smile :cat:
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  44. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
  45. Frank's Mom

    Frank's Mom Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2017
    At least it's not black?
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
  46. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Shhhh :D
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  47. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Looks like he might have a slight preference for that 2.25 dose right now. What do you think? Were you needing to steer at that dose?
     
  48. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Tonight's PMPS says NOPE! lol! I think it was just a mild bounce. Contractor came by with my step dad just around his shot time, making some noise and then delivering a piece of furniture a client gave him for my bedroom (only has a bed and nightstand from childhood bedroom). Wondering if that stressed him out a little and caused the bounce :facepalm:. Of course AFTER I shot, I had one of the usual thoughts, "can I take back 0.25U of that?" Back to F2.0U in the morning, numbers permitting ;)
     
  49. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    [​IMG]

    It's Alice in Wonderland Night here in Prozinc-land. All the kitties have gone mad!
     
  50. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Yeah, that was a bit aggressive on a 115. Guess who might get some contraband tonight? Of course, there is an equal chance that he'll float right along and be fine since that isn't a 'normal' number for him.
     
  51. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    I really didn't want to skip and I did tell myself this is almost a NS number but I gave F0.75U on a 128 and he bounced later after a similar cycle. I will be checking him and if he needs me to stay up, I will :)
     
  52. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    That's what I was thinking too - that you have enough data to feel mostly* confident that the 115 is a 'bouncy' number for him. But it's risky. I would never want someone to shoot a number like that who doesn't have (a) a lot of data and (b) experience and confidence with steering/hypos (both of which you have).

    *It looks like your pre-shots are trending down and it might not be safe to assume that for much longer...:)
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
  53. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    I can't talk about that (anti jinx) lol
     
    Sharon14 and Djamila like this.
  54. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
  55. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    oOoO What's the BOS award?! :woot::bookworm:
     
  56. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Wait! I remember now :D
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  57. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    On behalf of the ProZinc forum , actually, the whole FDMB forum I gladly present to you the coveted Balls of Steel (BOS)


    upload_2017-4-19_21-10-24.png
     
  58. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    LOL. But I feel I might've made a mistake. Have to go do some steering :oops:. Got jinxed anyway, Djamila :spam::(. Will be back to update, once we're in the clear.
     
  59. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    You know how to steer. You've got this. :cat:
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
  60. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    You can boost him up now with some higher carb food now to give him a higher starting number before the insulin kicks in if you are concerned.

    ETA: Actually, that is what I would do ; I just saw where you are using a AT meter so that numbers is lower on a human meter.
     
  61. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Yong usually only does the AT2 for vet curves, so that is most likely the number on her human meter. Well, looks like Maury is now giving you 'real' low numbers...:D
     
  62. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    I use the AT2 when he pulls lower numbers too :). I try to reserve pulling out the HC immediately now. Gave him about 1T, mostly gravy, of his MC food that he gets for lunch. Just updated SS :cat:. Will re-test in 30m. Did not give any more food yet.
     
  63. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Up Maury!
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
  64. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    I missed all the fun! Just got back from my meeting and Maury looks good! Are you going to do a +5, or are you done for the night?
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
  65. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Waiting to get a +5. Just had a nice play with him :)
     
  66. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Well, I know you can't talk about it...but tonight's turn of events changes things a bit. He dropped like a rock on that +2! Might be time to raise your 'no-shot' number. 130? 135?
     
  67. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    And I'm trying to be good about the things-we-don't-discuss and all, but....:)

    And looks like I was totally wrong about him preferring 2.25u. Definitely the wrong direction!
     
  68. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Yup. New territory! +5 163. Curling up in bed now ^_^
     
  69. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Sleep well!
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
  70. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Wow!!!! I missed the excitement too...we went out to buy a new fan for the bedroom in the attempt to get some sleep in this no air conditioned house. LOVE the BOS award!

    You did great with him last night (as you always do!).
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
  71. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    You have a no air conditioned house in AL?!:nailbiting::eek::bighug:
     
  72. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    It's dead! Died about a week ago and we're having a hard time getting someone to call us back to come out and sell us a new one! I was hoping it would be fixed by now, but we're looking at at least until early next week before we get one...sigh.
     
  73. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Ugh! Well at least it's not July and there's a cool front coming through in a few days...
    You can get a cheap window unit at Walmart too if necessary.
     
    Rachel likes this.
  74. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Whew! That was exciting!
     
  75. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Fun times last night :smuggrin: I realized I gave skinny 1.0U but still shouldn't have done more than 0.5U :oops:. It was an experiment :D. Did a slightly reduced dose this morning, in case he was sensitive from last night. Didn't want to dose the bounce again either ;)
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  76. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    All data is good data, right? And Maury was fine. You know how to keep him safe.
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
  77. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
  78. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    LOL! That is adorable!!!
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
  79. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I love it when they do that!
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
  80. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Hahahah that is SO CUTE!
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
  81. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
  82. Phoebes (GA)

    Phoebes (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Sooo beautiful Yong!!!!
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
  83. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Get off the trampoline, Maury :p
     
  84. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Hmm :bookworm:. I lowered the dose this morning because of his PMPS last night, which usually triggers the reduction but was hoping the PS numbers would go back to yellows by now :(. First "bounce" cycle lasted 4 cycles, I think. Re-started, second "bounce" next 4 cycles. And today may start the count over again :confused:.

    Anyone think I should have stuck with the F2.0 a little longer? Last night I meant to give F1.75 since stalling got him over 200 :facepalm:. At least being tired I gave less rather than too much:cat:.
    Will be gone today so won't be able to get any mid-cycle tests :(. Any thoughts, including no thoughts lol, you guys have will be appreciated :bighug:Thanks!
     
  85. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    I think I would have stuck with the 2u for a bit longer. Isn't hindsight great? The 392 is icky, but it's not that different than the 369 he'd had during the AM cycle that day.
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
  86. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Hard to say. If your goal is to even out AM/PMPS and avoid stalling 1.75 u might do that. You won't know until you try.
     
    Yong & Maury GA and Djamila like this.
  87. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    That's a good point! I had missed that there was a stall on the 214. Might be worth sticking at 1.75 for a few days and see what happens.
     
  88. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    I think his ideal dose was the F2.0U but has moved to in between 1.75U and 2.0U :bookworm:
     
    Djamila likes this.
  89. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    It's a moving target as we say ....
     
  90. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
  91. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    He looks like my angel :)
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
  92. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    :banghead: for today. Talk about a flat cycle. :facepalm:
     
  93. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    But not red or black!
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page