Meet Lola!

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by 15stepper, Mar 10, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 15stepper

15stepper New Member

Hey everyone. I'm relatively new to the DM game, my best friend Lola was diagnosed on 12/23/15. She almost didn't make it through her initial ordeal, as she had also developed severe hepatic lipidosis, along with heart disease, and was severely dehydrated, anorexic and ketonic... After tapping our savings with just three days at the animal hospital, I brought Lola home for care via a feeding tube.... Which she survived on for three weeks before she was well enough for it to come out..... Now...with lots of prayers and love, she is home and we take it day by day. We've been doing the sugar dance for awhile now, and she is picky as hell with food, so the entire ordeal has been a carefully managed struggle. You can learn more about the effort to save Lola at gofundme/savelola....I was very blessed to have a lot of luck crowd funding for her expenses.

So here I am, just deciding to start monitoring her BG here at home. I've bought a glucometer, and seven pricks, 3 strips, and two error msgs later, I've given up trying til later. Any advice would be welcome!

Also, Lola became hypoglycemic a few days ago, briefly, which was strange because it was after a week of having LOWERED her insulin, AND she was spilling sugar in her urine so vet thought it was okay to administer it.... Mommy knew better, took her for the check, she was at 57. After a normal blood panel we are thinking I may have gotten a defective pen this month. I use the Lantus Glargine Solostar... Has anyone had any problems with it dispensing accurately??

I know this is a lot of info, so for now, enjoy this photo!

Attached Files:

Critter Mom likes this.
  2. BJM

BJM Well-Known Member

Welcome to FDMB.

If you would, please put some details in your signature, to give folks background context for answering your questions.