Meters and other Q's

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Anonymous, Sep 27, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Anonymous

Anonymous Guest

Mugsy's doc has decided to try him on Lantus. Our friend Jake is using Levimer. We are the "guinea pigs". He's learning from us and we're learning from "you all". Has anyone tried the Maxima Meter???? It seems to be ideal - easy to read, small sample, and low price for strips. Both cats are doing great! BG in the normal range or just slightly above. They are now active, playful, kittenlike and one is 13/14 and the other is 7+. Any suggestions or comments welcome.

2. Phoebe_TiggyGA_NortonGA

Phoebe_TiggyGA_NortonGA Well-Known Member

I use the Maxima AST meter and love it. I've only seen it online at http://www.hocks.com, so I have to make sure and order more strips before I run out (can't just run up to the local pharmacy)

I've been using the Maxima AST for a couple years now. I guess it is being phased out over the next year or so, and replaced with the Maxima Infinity.

3. Anonymous

Anonymous Guest

The Maxima meter I was considering is at americandiabeteswholesale.com. The meter with control solution/lance pen/200 strips is $75 and strips cost under $19. Glad to hear from you.

4. Larry and Kitties

Larry and Kitties Well-Known Member

5. Anonymous

Anonymous Guest

I don't know if this is the same meter but, I'm checking it out right now. Does the meter you are talking about also say Easygluco or Control? The one I'm considering just says Maxima. Thanks.

6. Phoebe_TiggyGA_NortonGA

Phoebe_TiggyGA_NortonGA Well-Known Member

The Maxima AST meter kit from www.hocks.com is $6.99
    http://hocks.com/hocks-healthcare/hocks ... AXKIT.html

and test strips are $16.49 per 50ct or $15.67 if you buy 5 or more:
    http://hocks.com/hocks-healthcare/hocks ... MAX50.html

To get free shipping, I also buy my syringes and lancets from www.hocks.com