Mitsy's pre-insulin levels tonight - question

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Rardito, Jul 24, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rardito

Rardito Member

Hi everyone,

Firstly, thank you to all of you for being so welcoming and helpful!

Secondly, I started Mitsy's spreadsheet. I managed to test her after two hours of fasting (not sure what time she ate prior to that but I took away the food for two hours before I did this test) and she was at 263. She last had insulin at 6:45am (5u per the vet's instructions).

I know all of you have mentioned that 5u is an extremely high dose, and since I'm new to this, I'm wondering if I should lessen it tonight. From what I'm seeing, 263 isn't extremely high...it's not ideal, but it's not the worst.

Would you all recommend that I lessen the dose? Please see her attached spreadsheet (although I just started so I apologize that not much is on there). You will see I gave her 5u last night and tested two hours later and she was in the 70s. So it wasn't too low either.

She seemed to be perkier than usual (as of late) when I got home from work today, although she had urinated on the floor again. I just feel like she pees way more and all over the place when I go below 3.5u so maybe she does need the high dose...thoughts?

2. FurBabiesMama

FurBabiesMama Well-Known Member