Mittens and Jody

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Jody Banta, May 8, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jody Banta

Jody Banta New Member

Hi am a newbie here but not with Diabetes, Had a dog who had it so I went to my canine diabetes site to see if there was a cat one and this is how I found you all. My cat Mittens and I would like to say hello.

2. Squeaky and KT (GA)

Squeaky and KT (GA) Well-Known Member

Hi Jody and extra sweet Mittens! Welcome to the best place you never wanted to be. You'll find a big difference in the treatment for a diabetic dog and diabetic cat. I'm glad you landed here!

We look forward to learning more about Mittens and you both! Just post questions in our Health forum. Poke around too - lots of info here.

HUGS!

Jody Banta likes this.
  3. Yong & Maury GA

Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

4. Jody Banta

Jody Banta New Member

what are some of the differences in treating a cat verses a dog? other then different numbers from what I can tell and a cat can go into remission other then that I do the same thing with her as I did with my dog. I even use the same kind of Insulin ( novlin N from Wal-mart) I check her sugar in the morning before feeding her and mid-day and evening again. I find it more difficult to get her to eat at a certain time she just grazes all day so I let her. I have 2 cats so now they both are eating the same thing. Grain free! I feed them Fancy Feast Classic and a can Food called Daves which is Wheat and Gluten free, and Nutri Source Pure Vita Holistic pet foods for dry.

5. Yong & Maury GA

Just a quick note and I could be wrong, I just use formulas I've found through research, but the carb content for your dry food - NutriSource Pure Vita Holisitc is too high for a diabetic kitty. Grain-free does not mean Carb-free. There are 3 acceptable dry foods for diabetic cats.
    Young Again Zero / Zero Mature: 0 - 2% dry matter carb