More post-increase drama

Status
Not open for further replies.

Misterbeesmom

Member Since 2016
Overhwhelmed, i took a break from the board, but new situation has arisen.

On 5/21 we tried increase Lantus to 5u again. And since then, every BG has been 300+. (Alphatrak)

We have never had such weirdness as this with any other increase, btw:

I called vet early afternoon yesterday about this. They said to go back down to prior dose of 4.5. So i did that last night.

yesterday he was very restful. In our diabetic experience, he had always been restless and fidgety, so i took the extended napping as a good sign. I did notice he ate less yesterday than usual. Oddly, for an unregulated diabetic cat, he did not drink much.

by last night he was quite lethargic, looking kinda stoned with half closed eyes and third eyelids visible. His movements seemed to be weakened. BG 396. If he was acting like that earlier in the day i wouldve been asking vet for appt.

At 3 am today i woke up and wanted to see if he ate anything. He always gets up and down all night to eat/drink/go bathroom, but this time he had not. This is unusual. We had gone to bed at 10.

I started preoaring him some food with added water. He didnt get up right away but a moment later he showed up in kitchen. He ate a healthy serving, had a good pee, had a little drink, walked around a bit, and after a while was at his empty bowl so i gave him another serving which he ate almost all. He went right after for his comfy daybed and has been there ever since. He still has very tired eyes, opening them all the way only for a moment.

Like i said, this is odd behavior for him. He has always leaned towards restlessness with his condition, which wasnt good, but this cant be good either. Not sure what to do, or if this is a serious sign of something going badly wrong. He is still on his daybed, shifting positions once in a while, and raising up his head at certain noises, but his eyes are so tired that he barely opens them. I dont know what to think! Its 5:30.

Again, this might be normal behavior for a poorly regulated hyperglycemic cat but this is 1. Unsual for him and 2. Only started up after the increase. This is the 2nd attempt to get regulated on 5u. Last time we also got high readings BUT there was none of this lethargic, low appetite stuff. Its also weird that he's acting like this but not drinking much.

Ketodiastix says glucose in urine but no ketones.

Its gotten to the point that i'm afraid to give him his insulin and afraid NOT to give him his insulin.

Not sure what you can tell me. I wonder if Lantus just wont work for him. How do people know when to try a different insulin?

I'll probably go to vet today.
 
Last edited:
Called vet first thing, went right over.
Slight very very slight fever.
Some dehydration.
Spending the day there on iv fluids and to run several tests.
I'm glad he is the. I'm sad he is there.
 
Typically a high and flat cure like you are seeing indicates that the insulin dose is too high. You had a lot better cure on 4 units. However, the way he is action could indicate another problem and a vet visit seems in order.
Another type of insulin also might be worth pursuing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top