Moving from Vetsulin to Prozinc

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Maui, Sep 2, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Maui

Maui New Member

Hi all,
    I'm new to the FDMB so I apologize if I'm posting incorrectly or posting a duplicate.

Anyway, our cat's name is Maui. He's a 14 year old and has had diabetes for a number of years. Up until recently, he was on Vetsulin with a 3u dose using a 40u syringe. As many of you have commented, Vetsulin is no longer available and we have been told to switch to Prozinc.
    Since we made the switch, Maui has done terrible and I can only think it is the amount of insulin we are giving him. Our vet said to give him 1u initially and after the first round of blood tests, she bumped it to 2u. Maui is incredibly lethargic and now is showing severe signs of Neuropathy, which he displayed years ago when we started Vetsulin.

Yes, I am talking with vet to figure out the right amount of insulin, but I am wondering if any of you can chime in with ideas. I cannot seem to find a conversion chart that shows likely Vetsulin->Prozinc mappings. For example, if I was giving Maui 3u of Vetsulin in a 40u syringe, is there a likely amount that I should be giving him of Prozinc?

I hope that's enough to start my question(s). Any and all feedback is appreciated!

Maui.

2. Larry and Kitties

Larry and Kitties Well-Known Member

Cats react differently to different insulins. That is why there is no "conversion chart" when changing insulins. You vet recommended the conservative approach of starting with one unit if the dose before was at lease one unit. To know what is going on it is recommend that you test the blood glucose level of Maui with a human meter. If you post your general location then maybe someone is near you and can help you test Maui's BG.

What are feeding Maui? Dry food requires more insulin since it is higher in carbs than canned.

3. Maui

Maui New Member

Thanks for the reply.