My 28 pound baby

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by boxermama, Jul 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. boxermama

boxermama New Member

My cat (Tator) weighs 28 pounds. He has FIV and is diabetic (on insulin twice a day).
    Does anyone have a chart for a cat on how many units he needs per gluclose reading? ie; he was 307 this morning so I gave 5 units, he was 180 last night so I gave 2 units of insulin. My vet said that since he weighs so much that 150 is normal. Basically, I feel like there is too much error in how many units I give him. Any help would be greatly appreciated

Attached Files:

2. housecats4

housecats4 Well-Known Member

Beautiful babies. First I am just a 2 month newbie ok so no advice Welcome to the best place to help your boy Tater..The more info you have the better like what kind of insulin.Are you home testing when was he dx.What does he eat dry or wet or both..Read the little stickers lot of info there. Put Advice ,Help or Dose in the subject line to get more help ok . My 17 lb Trey is on his 3rd day off insulin but you have to be very strick with what they advise you to do ok..They are great and shhh know more then most vets when it comes to diabetes in cats. Good luck....Just to let you know I was a wreck the first 2 weeks now piece of cake .... :lol: :coffee: :mrgreen: Kath Hope this helps

3. Lisa and Witn (GA)

Lisa and Witn (GA) Well-Known Member

Insulin is not dosed by weight. Every cat responds differently to a dose of insulin. Also, depending on the insulin, you should not adjust the dose from shot to shot. Many insulins such as Lantus, Levemir and PZI, you need to keep the dose consistant for at least a week to give the body a chance to respond to it.