My 9 yr old, "The Dood" diagnosed last night. Newbie here.

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Deborah Martin, May 31, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Deborah Martin

Deborah Martin New Member

Good morning all. Thankful beyond belief that I've found this website and all of you! I have 2 cats. Little Kitty, who I "inherited" several years ago from my son when he couldn't keep her in his apt. She's a tabby of unknown age. The other, Doody, is my black cat who is just a few months over 9 yrs old. He's been special to me since day one. He was born just a few days before I lost my husband to Lymphoma. We both listened to him, and the rest of the litter, being born, on speaker phone while in my husband's hospital room. This cat is soooo special to me!
    Anyway, I'd been noticing that he wasn't as frisky as usual, and when I got home from work yesterday, he was trying to meow and nothing was coming out but a squeek! I rushed him to our Vet, and he was diagnosed with diabetes and has a kidney infection. My Vet asked me to decide what I wanted to do. No need to decide! I'm going to do what I need to do for my dear Dood! He stayed at the Vet's last night for IV fluids and his first insulin shot. I cried a few gallons of tears, slept very little, and got to my office at the usual 5:30 A.M! Thank-you caffeine!
    I'm to stop in after work to find out more info. I'm determined to get him home and get on the path to doing whatever I need to do for him. Last night, thoughts of the expenses had me reeling, not to mention the fact that I travel often, and wouldn't always be home to monitor things. However, after reading your posts here, and realizing there are competent sitters (and boarding at the Vet office), I CAN DO THIS! No more tears!

beggargirl, Dyana and JanetNJ like this.
  2. Idjit's mom

Idjit's mom Well-Known Member