My brain hurts

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Nance, Jan 15, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nance

Nance New Member

Hi folks. Newbie here. I'm Nancy. My diabetic cat is Lolly. She was diagnosed on 12/12. There's so much to process, my brain hurts. :)

Lolly has been on 2 units of ProZinc twice a day. After her first curve, 2 weeks in, her numbers were so improved that the vet said it was likely she'd go in to remission.

Sunday night I fed her and gave her her shot. 3 hours later she had a hypoglycemic episode. I gave her Karo and more food . The Karo worked almost immediately, the full recovery took about an hour.

Side note.......if you're also new to this and are unsure whether you'll recognize the signs of hypoglycemia let me assure you, you will. :woot:

Luckily, we had an appointment for a curve Monday morning. I neither fed nor gave her her shot Monday. I took food and insulin along and let the vet take care of it.

Her curve results were good. For some reason they neglected to give me a copy and I didn't realize it until I got home but her numbers dropped as low as 75 during the day. I was instructed not to give her insulin at her 8pm feeding as she had received a shot later than usual because she didn't want to eat. I was also instructed to drop her dose to one unit twice a day. I also bought a meter at that time.

This morning I tried to check her glucose with the meter and succeeded in poking myelf and upsetting her. :( I opted to skip the shot as I had to leave for work and was unwilling to risk another hypoglycemic episode while nobody was home.

This evening, about 7:45, I successfully tested her blood and got a reading of 145. This is after about 28 hours of no insulin. The vet's office told me to skip the insulin if she was under 150 so I did.

Experts, please weigh in with your thoughts, observations, criticism, anything.