My George was just diagnosed with Diabetes :( need some good help and Advice.

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Cindy Lou & George, Nov 1, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cindy Lou & George

Cindy Lou & George Member

My Family and I live in central Wisconsin. We are almost empty nesters. ( the Boys have started their careers but have not moved out yet. My husband is a Liquor and Wine Salesman and I am a Hair stylist one day a week. I rent a chair My business " Tuesdays with Cindy" the rest of the week I work in a warehouse that distributes snacks and coffee.
    We have a rescued Cat .. George, who is the coolest. everyone says he is dog in a cats body. He was a big boy at 14 lbs and can reach the counter by standing on his hind legs. He has no claws. the owners that had him befor us took them. you can't tell George he can't hunt. he has brought us mice. chipmunks, rabbits, squirrels, and a small possum. He snuggles with you, has a complete conversation and guides you to his every wish. He just turned 7 and unfortunately has been diagnosed with Diabetes.
    We don't have a large income to manage George and hi illness. so I would gladly take any advice you have on saving $$$. So I can keep George going .

Cindy Lou

2. Sharon14

Sharon14 Well-Known Member

Hi Cindy Lou, welcome again! First, what are you feeding George? Most of us here feed 9 Lives, Fancy Feast Classics, or Friskies Pates. They are much cheaper than the vet food. Also testing George's glucose at home is much cheaper than letting the vet do it, and it's the best way to keep George safe. If you are feeding a high carb food, don't change it until you are testing his glucose because his numbers could drop significantly. As I said on your other post, 3u 2x/day seems high to start. What did your vet base that dose on?

3. Bobbie And Bubba

Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member