Need a Blood Glucose monitor. Can anyone recommend a good one that syncs with iPhone

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Barbara-Ann, Sep 18, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Barbara-Ann

Barbara-Ann New Member

Hi All,
    My Lucky was diagnosed today. Have the ProZinc and syringes ordered but still haven’t gotten a BG monitor.
    Need recommendations for one that syncs to iPhone so it will keep track of numbers.
    Also can someone explain the 45 degree angle because although I was watching the vet in my brain I was shutting down.
    I’ve done this back in 2008 but I’m just stressed out and blocking.
    Thank you much!
    Barbara-Ann

2. Candy&Company

Candy&Company Member

Apple has one - what phone do you have? iOS or Android, etc? There's also the One Touch, Freestyle, etc. God help me, this is part of what I do for a living (cell phone customer service) - believe it or not there's not alot of apps for phones via devices that're "good" - not yet anyway. They're out there don't get me wrong but TRUST ME you're better off getting a regular human meter and using THEIR memory capabilities. Give it maybe 5 years and it'll be much better, but honestly - I wouldn't recommend it for starting out.

If anyone has questions by all means message me, but USE THE ACTUAL METER. Use a log book, paper and pen - do NOT use your smart phone for this just yet (if you're new). There's nothing "wrong" with it per say but the data CAN get scrambled, lost, the charts don't ALWAYS align properly, etc. Not to mention with "updates" it can totally screw your BG fiiles. The apps just aren't stable enough, fool-proof for me enough. Again doesn't mean they don't work, but it can be dicey depending.

If it was me, I'd go for the iPhone Glucose, Accu-Chek Aviva, Relion Confirm or the Contour Net EZ for smart phone reporting but again, beware.