Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins from

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by JackieVendetti, Sep 5, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JackieVendetti

    JackieVendetti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Hi Everyone,

    Ok, Petie is back on the juice. I just gave him half his dose because he only ate half the food, but I will give him his regular in the morning. I stopped because I couldn't see his blood and he had a weird tic that seemed to be getting worse with the insulin. I will try to film that tic and show it to the doc. Only seems to happen when he purrs.

    Larry suggested that I change the subject of this message to see if anyone on the board can come and help me get Petie's blood. It would be really great if anyone lived in the vicinity and could come over and show me how it's done? I keep poking his ear, and getting nothing :(

    If you can, please let me know.

    Petie is a 13 yo male who was just diagnosed 3 weeks ago.

    Thank you so much!
    Jackie
     
  2. Larry and Kitties

    Larry and Kitties Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Stopped Lantis on own - nervous mom - what to do?

    Where are you located? Maybe someone can come over and help you.
    Have you tested the cat's urine for ketones?
     
  3. LynnLee + Mousie

    LynnLee + Mousie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Stopped Lantis on own - nervous mom - what to do?

    I wouldn't just stop the insulin because if he's drinking and peeing a lot he clearly needs it i would think.

    i would continue the insulin and while you work on blood testing, i'd look into some of the secondary monitoring techniques that are out there. they're not perfect but it's better than nothing and better than no insulin and kitty getting sicker.

    I think member BJM has a nice write up in their signature on the secondary monitoring techniques. i'll see if i can link it or if i can't i'll ask her to post here so you can read about them
     
  4. LynnLee + Mousie

    LynnLee + Mousie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  5. JackieVendetti

    JackieVendetti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Re: Stopped Lantis on own - nervous mom - what to do?

    I am in NYC. If someone could come over and help me I would be so appreciative. do you know of someone?
     
  6. JackieVendetti

    JackieVendetti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Re: Stopped Lantis on own - nervous mom - what to do?

    I just spoke to his original doc who said I should get him back on the juice. This whole thing is killing me.
     
  7. Larry and Kitties

    Larry and Kitties Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Stopped Lantis on own - nervous mom - what to do?

    What general area of NYC? It is a big city.
     
  8. JackieVendetti

    JackieVendetti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Re: Stopped Lantis on own - nervous mom - what to do?

    I am in Brooklyn, accessible by the F, A, C, R trains - third stop in Brooklyn off of F. 30 mins from 42nd street.

    It is a big city!! I am sooo sorry.
     
  9. Larry and Kitties

    Larry and Kitties Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Stopped Lantis on own - nervous mom - what to do?

    I would edit the subject line of your first post to add "Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins from 42nd street." or something similar to give general location.
     
  10. TheBowHuntress

    TheBowHuntress Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Re: Stopped Lantis on own - nervous mom - what to do?

    Jackie--I have sent a PM to a member who is in your area, and either they will contact you or I will as soon as I get a response. Hang in there.
     
  11. Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

    Wendy&Tiggy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    What do you mean by "weird tic"?

    Wendy
     
  12. JackieVendetti

    JackieVendetti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    Thank you so much, Wendy. I will be on the lookout.

    The tic is weird. It's only when he is purring. It looks like he is being bitten by a bug - he flinches. I just made a video of it. It seems a bit worse today, funny that it is right when we put Petie back on the juice. I wonder if anyone's kitty has had a reaction to the Lantus? Will post the video as soon as it is done uploading to youtube.
     
  13. Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

    Wendy&Tiggy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    Does it look like his skin is kinda twitchy and rippling? Eminating from where the shot was? Does it happen all the time or just after the shot?

    Wendy
     
  14. JackieVendetti

    JackieVendetti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    Yes, I do see that his skin ripples occassionally from where the shot was. But, this is different. This is like he is being physically bitten - like he almost jumps. And, this morning it's worse and he just had his shot 2 hours ago. It hasn't been this bad in days. It's one of the reasons I stopped and the tics seemed to stop at the same time, or at least got less noticeable.

    I just found this from someone else:
    http://www.medhelp.org/posts/Cats/Diabe ... ow/1916477

    Looks like someone else had similar twitches on lantis.

    I didn't notice the tic last night but I only gave him half his shot. Maybe I will decrease the shot to .5.
    He was a little wobbly on his feet a couple times this morning, but my fiance said I was making it up.

    This is killing me. Still waiting for the video to upload - it's at 31%
     
  15. JackieVendetti

    JackieVendetti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    Yes, I do see that his skin ripples occassionally from where the shot was. But, this is different. This is like he is being physically bitten - like he almost jumps. And, this morning it's worse and he just had his shot 2 hours ago. It hasn't been this bad in days. It's one of the reasons I stopped and the tics seemed to stop at the same time, or at least got less noticeable.

    I just found this from someone else:
    http://www.medhelp.org/posts/Cats/Diabe ... ow/1916477

    Looks like someone else had similar twitches on lantis.

    I didn't notice the tic last night but I only gave him half his shot. Maybe I will decrease the shot to .5.
    He was a little wobbly on his feet a couple times this morning, but my fiance said I was making it up.

    This is killing me. Still waiting for the video to upload - it's at 31%
     
  16. TheBowHuntress

    TheBowHuntress Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    Hi Wendy--something to note with Petie and his "twitchy and rippling": Jackie has not been giving him lantus shots regularly because she cannot get blood out of him BUT has been using the combo ketone/BG strips. Also, Petie has been drinking a lot of water plus eating his usual dry mixed with YAZC....Let's find out from Jackie what and how much insulin he has had in the past week. I'll post separately in this thread.
     
  17. TheBowHuntress

    TheBowHuntress Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    Jackie, can you remember, for this last week--starting backward from today, when and how much insulin you gave him, plus results of your ketone/BG tests?
     
  18. JackieVendetti

    JackieVendetti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    Ok, here are the Insulin shots he has gotten. All of his keto-diastix in the last week have been NO ketones (he's never had them) and his sugar is now in the mid-range for the last week.

    Today: 1 unit at 9am
    Yesterday: .5 unit at 9pm
    9.4: nothing
    9.3: nothing
    9.2: nothing
    9.1: nothing
    8.31: 1 unit at 7:55a
    8.30: 1 unit at 8:30a
    8.29: 1 unit at 7:55a
    8.28: 1 unit at 7:55a
    8.27: 1 unit at 7:40a, 1 unit at 8pm
    8.26: 1 unit at 8a, 1 unit at 7:45p
    8.25: 1 unit at 7:55a, 1 unit at 8p
    2 units a day since 8/18

    Video is at 87%
     
  19. JackieVendetti

    JackieVendetti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    Video is up:

    you can see twitching (and these aren't as bad as earlier ones which he twitched about 5 or 6 x):

    scroll to :29 and 1:23.

    Can you see it? And then you can see he scratches his ear.

    http://youtu.be/DZN_3mDHJos
     
  20. JackieVendetti

    JackieVendetti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
  21. Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

    Wendy&Tiggy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    Ok thats not what I thought it was. I have seem rippling etc but nothing like that. I would call your vet. it could be some weird form of neuropathy or some form of seizure. but its weird that it is related to the insulin.

    Are you giving methylcobalamin?

    Wendy
     
  22. JackieVendetti

    JackieVendetti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    Oh boy - my vet isn't back until tomorrow. i guess i could call the interim vet. what's methylcobalamin?
     
  23. JackieVendetti

    JackieVendetti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    Here's the problem with calling the vet. they are going to say come in and petie won't have the little tics in the office :(
    he only has them when he is totally relaxed and purring.

    what should i say to the vet? god, this is so hard :(
     
  24. Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

    Wendy&Tiggy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    Methylcobalamin is a form of vitamin B12 that works to help treat nerve damage like neuropathy that occurs due to high blood sugar. You get the pills at any health food store (or you can buy a cat version called zobaline) just make sure they dont have any sugar or xylitol in them cos its toxic. Takes 4-6 weeks to work but it also helps if the cats diabetes is regulated

    How about you call the vet and get the email address and email them the video? No point in taking him in if he doesnt do it there. Ask them to watch the video and give their thoughts

    Wendy
     
  25. TheBowHuntress

    TheBowHuntress Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    Jackie -- I would get a blood glucose level now....just in case....he seems very laid back for a kitty who is usually skittish. Is he taking meds for his broken leg? When doing your video, as laid back as he was being, would be a good time to try again for a blood test. Just keep trying. And give him a treat each time you poke him.
     
  26. Hillary & Maui (GA)

    Hillary & Maui (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    I'm not really sure this is anything to be concerned over. It looks like a nerve twitch that either you touched a sensitive spot or it may be just the positioning and movement that caused it. I'm not an expert, but he doesn't appear to be in pain or that the twitch was bothersome in any way. Just my thoughts....of course showing the video to the vet will help the vet to see what you are referring it, as it may not be duplicated in the office.
     
  27. JackieVendetti

    JackieVendetti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    I really do hope it's nothing to be worried over. He does it more when on the Lantus - and, he does it even when not being touched - but only when purring :(

    Sigh, all of this is so hard.
     
  28. Hillary & Maui (GA)

    Hillary & Maui (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    I hear you, but I'm thinking this has more to do with his nerve endings and sensitivity than with Lantus.

    Try this next time he is sleeping, lounging by you:

    place your hand inches above his body (do not touch him) and very slowly open and close your hand and move it down his body - see if he twitches and if his fur jumps.

    This is a reiki type of technique that transfers the heat and energy between your hand and his body. It's pretty cool to make him twitch when you want and has nothing to do with insulin or anything.

    When Buster is very relaxed, her skin will twitch and jump and sometimes so much that she will look at me, wondering what is going on. It's pretty funny to see, it doesn't happen all the time, but when I can make that connection it's pretty cool.

    Maybe you are doing something similar when petting his belly.
     
  29. JackieVendetti

    JackieVendetti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    Well, it's not only when I touch him. It's when looking at him, too. I just took another video of me just looking at him. It's when he is purring and he almost jumps with the twitching...

    The reiki thing sounds cool, but I dunno, it seems more than that. Sigh.

    I am uploading the video you can see. But I will totally try the reiki thing.

    I also just see he has a little trouble focusing sometimes. Noticed that after he came back from being sedated a third time at the vets for his injured leg.

    I just tried getting a blood sample - no luck :(
     
  30. JackieVendetti

    JackieVendetti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    I took another video, one without me touching him:

    http://youtu.be/DZN_3mDHJos
     
  31. Hillary & Maui (GA)

    Hillary & Maui (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    The other video showed up on that link, but I did scroll through your youtube posts and see the video you just shot.

    It was a very slight twitch about 1.01 mark right.

    This makes me wonder if there is something neurological going on. I would take both videos to the vet and ask. I might even take him to a neurological specialist. You're close enough to NYC, there must be several to choose from. The one I've used is in NJ Red Bank Veterinary Hospital and too far for you to travel.

    Here are some I found in a quick search:

    Jason Berg
    Board-certified neurologists
    County Animal Specialty Group
    1574 Central Park Avenue
    Yonkers, New York (914-779-2670)

    Sick-pet symptoms don't get much scarier -- for pets and owners -- than seizures and paralysis. "A lot of what we do here is take care of people," says 31-year-old Jason Berg, whose one-and-a-half-year-old clinic offers only treatment in dog and cat neurology, by referral.

    Berg and his partner, Richard Joseph (see page 36), are the only two licensed veterinary neurologists in New York City and Westchester, and they have all the necessary machinery for their speciality: MRI scanners as well as equipment for brain and spinal surgery, spinal taps, and physical therapy. One thing the doctors have noticed: Meningioma brain tumors are inexplicably more common in East Coast cats than West Coast cats. But luckily, "cats have an amazing recovery from this type of surgery," says Berg. "I can usually send the patient home two days later with an 80 percent chance of survival."

    http://newyork.bluepearlvet.com/medical ... rosurgery/

    They have a location in Brooklyn. 32 4th Avenue
    Brooklyn, New York 11217

    http://www.vcaspecialtyvets.com/fifth-a ... management

    Might be worth the peace of mind to bypass the general vet and go directly to a specialist. It's what I typically do, as I would get frustrated with the general vet and end up at the specialist anyway. This way I save money and aggravation.
     
  32. JackieVendetti

    JackieVendetti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    thank you. i sent the videos to the place where he was originally and they have neurologists. they will call me back and let me know. unfortunately i called blue pearl and u need to be referred there. oi.
     
  33. Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

    Wendy&Tiggy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    ok .. let us know what they say. Paws crossed its nothing serious.

    Wendy
     
  34. JackieVendetti

    JackieVendetti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    i will. i am waiting at vet now. petie is limping today too. hes fine and then if he turns a certain way he limps. i am thinking i am just way too stressed out and i am transmitting thatto him. or his paw could have gotten hurt when we tried to shove him in the cage on wednesday. what a mess we are.
    thanks for keeping your paws crossed!
     
  35. Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

    Wendy&Tiggy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    Hugs..
     
  36. JackieVendetti

    JackieVendetti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    Thanks for the hugs! The poor vet hospital turned me away after a 2 hour wait - they just kept getting emergency after emergency. Over 30 emergencies in one day - and more were coming in when i was there! so, they are going to try and call me later. will let everyone know!!
     
  37. Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

    Wendy&Tiggy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
  38. JackieVendetti

    JackieVendetti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    Hi,

    Vet just called. She said it could be that he's not regulated properly on the lantis. Or it could be neurological. She said his electrolytes could be off. She's not sure. She said it didn't look like an emergency and that if it got worse or happened more frequently, we should take him in. But, if it doesn't, we can wait until our appt on Mon/Tues.

    What do y'all think?
     
  39. Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

    Wendy&Tiggy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    You can probably wait. And she is right, he isn't regulated as you know.. Need to get more consistent on his dosing etc. we can help with that.

    Wendy
     
  40. Hillary & Maui (GA)

    Hillary & Maui (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    He doesn't seem to be negatively affected by it, so she is probably right that it isn't an emergency. Of course if something more serious happens over the weekend, don't wait and take him in.
     
  41. miso00

    miso00 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    Has anyone replied to helping you with home testing? I will be in Brooklyn tomorrow at McCarren park for an adoption event. I will be in Union Square area on Sunday. My cell# is 914-255-4500. Text or call me and maybe I can stop over. If not and no one is able to get to you, can you take your testing equipment to your vet and have him/her help? I know for me it helps to warm the ear with a sock filled with rice and heated in the microwave. there is also this link (not sure anyone has sent to you)

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_zE12-4fVn8
     
  42. JackieVendetti

    JackieVendetti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    Hi Jenn,

    I would LOVE if you could come over - today or tomorrow works - whatever time! I am going to text you and call you. Thank you soooo much!!

    Jackie
     
  43. JackieVendetti

    JackieVendetti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    Thank you, Wendy!!!
     
  44. Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

    Wendy&Tiggy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    You should be careful putting person info on the open board - edit your post to remove your phone number and PM it instead.
     
  45. JackieVendetti

    JackieVendetti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    Hi All,

    So the wonderful Jennifer came over and she got Petie's blood like a real pro. And he even sat with us afterwards!

    His blood level was 55 - when we tested it against a human's blood and a human meter, it seemed to read 10 points low. So, we think Petie was at 65.

    We are not going to give him his shot tonight, unless y'all think we should give him .25 of a shot or less?

    Any advice would be much appreciated. Not sure how all this diabetes stuff works. We will try and test him again in the morning. It looked so easy when she did it!

    THANK YOU JENNIFER AND MARK!!!!
     
  46. Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

    Wendy&Tiggy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    NO! No shooting under 200 for now until you have data on how he will behave. Also 50-130 is normal cat numbers so he is looking good. Keep testing and see how it goes.

    Wendy
     
  47. JackieVendetti

    JackieVendetti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    Thank you Wendy. I hope we can test him in the morning before we give him his morning shot. He is still peeing and drinking lots.
     
  48. Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

    Wendy&Tiggy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    Ok cool. .Great job on the testing by the way - good luck tomorrow!

    hang a sec though - What meter are you using that you compared it to a human meter?? Was it an alphatrak??? If so then we may have an issue.. let me know!!

    Wendy
     
  49. JackieVendetti

    JackieVendetti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    Oh nuts. Hold on. Finding out from Jennifer what kind of meter she had. I have an alphatrax but we used hers.
     
  50. Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

    Wendy&Tiggy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    I just wondered cos you said you compared the 55 with the human meter that was 65?? so what meter did you get the 55 on?
     
  51. JackieVendetti

    JackieVendetti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    OK. We got the. On aBayer contour meter with a usb .
     
  52. JackieVendetti

    JackieVendetti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    Sorry typing on phone. We took our blood on it and it was 10 points off. Funny thinig is when we brought the human meter to vets office Petie tested at 167 but the vet got 303. Why do you think that is?
     
  53. Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

    Wendy&Tiggy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    Ok good then no worries. Meters vary by about 20% between meters and in their own readings, I wouldn't stress about it.

    The vet test is odd, were they using an alphatrak?

    Wendy
     
  54. JackieVendetti

    JackieVendetti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    Well, I took with me a human freestyle freedom rite to the vet appt and on that one he scored a 167 and on the Alphatrax at the vets office at the same time he showed a 303 which was what the vet got from his orignial test.
     
  55. Hillary & Maui (GA)

    Hillary & Maui (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    if your freestyle has the butterfly strips, then there have been members here who have had issues with those meters and that could be why the numbers are as far off as they are.....

    stick with your bayer contour - it's a great meter
     
  56. JackieVendetti

    JackieVendetti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    Yeah - it had butterfly strips. Well, the problem is we have an Alphatrax. jennifer was just nice enough to bring over her Bayer contour. If I buy another meter at this point, my fiance will flip! Is it ok that we have an alphatrax?
     
  57. Hillary & Maui (GA)

    Hillary & Maui (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    the alphatrak meter is fine, but you may discover over time that the strips are too expensive and only available at the vet - what happens when they are closed or out of stock and you need them.

    if you like the bayer contour, I can send you one, I just don't have strips for it - you can also get one for free too that will come with 10 strips

    http://www.freecontourusbmeter.com/

    this is their newest meter, so not familiar with it, but looks like it will work.

    or you can buy an inexpensive one from walmart - the relion brand - micro or confirm are inexpensive and strips are cheap too
     
  58. JackieVendetti

    JackieVendetti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    Oh you are so amazing! I just filled out that form - THANK YOU!! If they don't approve one for me, I will take you up on that offer of the contour.

    Thank you so much!
     
  59. Hillary & Maui (GA)

    Hillary & Maui (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    sure no problem - be sure when you complete the form that you pretend you are the patient, if you tell them it's for a cat - they may not give it to you....
     
  60. TheBowHuntress

    TheBowHuntress Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    Jackie--I'm so thrilled that you hooked up with Jenn! I bet that you learned some amazing things from her and that you'll get some blood today. Get a BG reading (blood) before you give him his shot. If he is 200 or under, DO NOT GIVE HIM INSULIN. When you do get the successful test, please post (start a brand new thread) and let us know which meter you are using within the thread. Your subject line could read something like this:

    I got Petie's first successful BG xxx !!! (then replace the number on your glucometer with the BG reading)
     
  61. miso00

    miso00 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    I don't get to FDMB much anymore since Mikey is OTJ and Tidus passed away so I was happy when I saw a post on FB that someone close to me needed help. Since I volunteer with DCIN I've done a few home visits and I was more than happy to meet Jackie and Petey.

    I have read through this thread and there are just a few things I am not sure were mentioned or not that Jackie and I spoke about yesterday. From what Jackie told me Petey got injured (ankle fx) and had to go to the vet. The vet is a VERY traumatizing experience for him. I know some cats BG"s sky rocket from stress and he had to go back 2 times (or more after) until they were able to get a vet to now come to the home. I know his BG at the vet was in the 400's. Could it have gotten THAT high just from stress? Jackie mentioned about a year ago his blood work had his BG at 160. The other thing I was wondering is could some of the medicine they gave him to fix his ankle brought on the diabetes and now after a few injections (and diet change) he might not really need it? It happened with my Mikey. He was OTJ and then had a procedure done and was later given prednisolone. WIth in 2 days his BG went from 60's to 200's. I put him back on Lantus and with in a few weeks he was off again and has not been on since, that was almost a year ago. Could a similar thing be going on with Petey? Maybe Jackie can get info from her vet on which meds. were given.

    I told Jackie to watch for hock feet also. I didn't overly notice Petey having them but there was one point that they "kind of" looked that way. I know the methyl b12 is better for that but I do have regular injectible b12 I can send her.

    It seems Petey has been a picky eater also. How much does he need to eat for it to be safe for Jackie to give insulin?
     
  62. Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

    Wendy&Tiggy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    It would be good if Jackie could find out what meds were given?

    I have heard some people say that the BG cant get that high at the vets but I think it depends on the cat and how it percieve the stress. But home testing will confirm everything. Yesterday she got 55 and today 169. The 169 is a bit high which is indicative of there being a problem still.

    She can pick up some methylcobalamin B12 pills from any health food store - I dont think regular B12 works for the neuropathy. AS long as the pills dont have sugar or xylitol in them they will be fine.

    Whatever is normal. Does he go for long periods without eating?

    Wendy
     
  63. JackieVendetti

    JackieVendetti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    Thank you Jennifer and Wendy!! Jennifer you were AMAZING yesterday for coming over and doing that. A real life saver. I cannot thank you enough.

    He never goes for long periods without eating, but he is VERY particular. If I put a plate out with wet food and dry food on it, sometimes he will only eat a little bit even if I know he is starving.

    I've had to put only a little bit of wet and mostly dry on the plate for him to even off of the plate with wet food.

    But, he likes to eat every 2-3 hours. I have been trying to feed him both wet and dry at the same time to get him used to the wet. Sometimes he licks the wet, sometimes he ignores it. The longest he goes without eating is maybe 6 hours overnight when I'm not awake to give him the dry. We leave wet down but he won't eat it.

    Jennifer - are those b12 shots you have the methyl like Wendy is talking about? i got the methyl pills and petie won't eat anything with those sprinkled in :(
     
  64. JackieVendetti

    JackieVendetti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    Oh and I will find out what meds they gave him for his little leg.
     
  65. JackieVendetti

    JackieVendetti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    hi all,
    petie is sleepy today. not peeing s much and not eating as much and sleepy. i am guessing his glucose is up. sigh
     
  66. Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

    Wendy&Tiggy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    Hows his BG? It could be low too..
     
  67. JackieVendetti

    JackieVendetti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    i dont know. he hasnt been out much today. i think he might be tired of being poked and prodded.
     
  68. JackieVendetti

    JackieVendetti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    and he hasnt had any insulin since yesterday morning so i am guessing maybe it is high? i am so confused by all of this. when he comes out again i will try and test him
     
  69. Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

    Wendy&Tiggy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: Need help in Brooklyn, third stop in off of F. 30 mins f

    Probably but you never know... if his pancreas is working intermittently he could be low.

    Once he comes out try and test him and remember the special treat!

    Wendy
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page