I don't see anything in the labs that's indicative of an infection of any kind or any abnormal kidney values. The SDMA is a recent addition to lab panels and is predictive of kidney disease -- it's in normal range. BUN and creatinine are also within normal limits -- this wouldn't be the case if a cat has kidney disease. If there's a kidney infection, chances you would be seeing Daisy making frequent trips to the litter box, she may have blood in her urine, pain, fever, and Daisy just not being herself. However, some cats exhibit no symptoms which is why this is hard to diagnose. I'm curious as to what your vet based the kidney/UTI diagnosis on. The urine samples didn't grow any bacteria.
I would consider increasing Daisy's dose to 3.25u.
Fedback has already been given in the Lantus/Levemir forum:I would still like to get more feedback on this from the Lantus forum;
Anastasia: Since you've already given 3 consecutive cycles at 3u bid, you could continue that same 3u dose for a total of 6 consecutive cycles (unless the numbers tell you otherwise), but I would test for ketones at least once a day AND I would try to get another BG test or two in the PM cycle as Marje mentioned the other day.ok what should I do now? reduce her dose? Or just start with 0.5?
@Tuxedo Mom
Mary Ann - see Jill's note above. I would not rely on information from May 27 when it comes to BG numbers. Those numbers can change. With nadirs being over 300 coupled with a history of ketones, I would not be thinking about anything except increasing the dose. The starting dose of 2u was not too terribly off the mark especially if there was a concern about ketones.