Need immediate advice

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Backyardtarpon, May 12, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

    Wendy&Tiggy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Hey there

    Sorry if I wasnt clear - in fact you had a good point and I was talking more to the other experienced responders that nobody has time to read through everything on here.. there is too much info and newbies dont know what to read especially when new and if it applies to them! I was talking generally that we should be looking at our process to see if there is a better way to help newbies like yourself ! I provided the links not only for your future reference but also for the newbie lurkers I know will be reading this! ;)

    People are on here because they love cats. We routinely stay up to help new members and enjoy doing it or we wouldnt be here! never feel bad about posting for help at any time - thats why we are here. Better to ask than having a problem!!

    This is the best board ever - so many people care and will stay up day and night to help a stranger they have never met. Many have a ton of experience- and more than many vets. Dont get me wrong - vets are good generalists but they just dont have the time to specialise in this and look at thousands of spreadsheets that the experienced guys on here do!

    Edited to add - thanks for the nice comment Jeanne!!
     
  2. Hi Leah,

    .

    I'm liking this vet much more than the other one :D

    The low carb diet should be wet food, and I'm sure you can find flavors she loves. And no need for a "prescription diet" that some vets suggest. They aren't any better than what you can buy off the shelf, but they cost a lot more.

    The home test numbers are even better than "ballpark" too. They might not be exactly what you would see in a lab report, but they are better than good enough to safely manage feline diabetes at home.

    And they are 100 percent correct. With Prozinc or PZI, there's no way a kitty should get a shot at 73! Last night, that didn't matter as it had already happened, but if you had been able to ask first, everyone here would have said "skip it tonight". That you reduced to three units was the first step that likely ended up saving Jezzi's life. "Gut instincts" are very important, and yours were right on the money.

    Today's numbers are not bad at all after dropping so low last night. The "bounce" could have been much higher.
     
  3. Backyardtarpon

    Backyardtarpon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Thank you, I think self confidence is a big plus with this. I know when not to shoot, when to not shoot and when to just ask.

    I'm really looking forward to appointment tomorrow, and, a good nights sleep tonight!

    Jezzi is sleeping comfortably now, hasn't had dry food since 2am! That's a big deal for her, and she hasn't been crying for it either. I know I'm going to get scolded for this, but I haven't made it to the store for her canned food. It won't be till tomorrow morning. Between the stress of the situation and sitting on a tile floor for hours has my back screaming. She will have a FF appetizer tonight and then tomorrow I'll start weening her off.
     
  4. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    No worries.

    A complete wean off kibble can be done by changing out 20-25% per day, ie gradually, to avoid GI upsets. Some cats change faster; some resist change. You'll find out where your cat is by experience.

    Glad things are stable - I had to crash last night for medical tests this morning.
     
  5. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    You deserve the rest - we won't fuss about the food. When you are there, pick up a few cans of the gravy lovers Fancy Feast. It would have been helpful to have the gravy from it last night and the carbs. Just mark it with a permanent marker - HYPO or HIGH CARB - so you don't feed it by mistake.
     
  6. Backyardtarpon

    Backyardtarpon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Also, by waiting till tomorrow I can reread the posts and charts about foods and low carbs.

    Last night I did a check online of carbs and total sugars of her one and only favorite treat, fresh Florida Canaveral White Shrimp. I was happy to see that she can still enjoy her treat. Which is nice since that's been my praise after visits to vets, or any other stressful thing I do to her, that's my time with her without needles. She loves my husband, goes to him for cuddles, which is okay, she comes to me sometimes. That's why her name is Jezzibell, because she likes men. She always has.

    As long as I can keep her happy and healthy, I can deal with everything else! That's another thing the "old" vet said to me. I asked him if I was being selfish by doing all this to extend her life, he told be that if I didn't want to bother with the treatment then the best thing would be to put her down! SO NOT what I wanted to hear!

    I really wish I had quit him a lot sooner, lesson learned!
     
  7. Backyardtarpon

    Backyardtarpon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    I'm happy to report that as of 4:30pm her BG was 287!

    She hasn't asked for her dry food and is actually playing in her box and chasing socks (she has a major sock addiction)!
    It's nice to see her so active and playful.

    She ate dinner at 5:30, and right before her scheduled shot I'll take another reading. Since her numbers have been really good I think I should repeat the 1unit shot? Do I hear any objections?
     
  8. Hope + (((Baby)))GA

    Hope + (((Baby)))GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    You also might be surprised at the bond that starts forming between you and Jezzie if you are the one treating her. These cats do know eventually that we are making them feel better. Talk to her, explain it to her....they do understand. Praise and hugs and kisses also work well besides eatable treats.
     
  9. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Leah,

    You need to make one tiny change in your signature. The SS link got messed up a teensy bit. Please change [ulr= to [url=
     
  10. Backyardtarpon

    Backyardtarpon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Yes Sue just told me, I changed it, and that what I'm looking for to see if it worked

    Does everybody see the little angel you helped me save last night, shes my avatar



    WOOHOO!!! I did it :lol: :lol: could someone verify for me, I have put any info on it yet, I just wanted to get it there
     
  11. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Ss perfect. Jezzi beautiful. Get some sleep. :D
     
  12. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    She's a beautiful calico!
     
  13. Backyardtarpon

    Backyardtarpon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    I'm surprised at the bond that's starting with my new FDMB family.
     
  14. Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

    Wendy&Tiggy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Can you take off the 911 icon from your first post ? (Go to your first post and edit). Want to make sure if you do have another 911 we don't miss it!!
     
  15. Backyardtarpon

    Backyardtarpon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Ok, I'm sorry, rookie mistake
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page