Need Meter Advice

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by mobeycat, Feb 26, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mobeycat

mobeycat New Member

Hello- I am new to this as my cat was just diagnosed last week with Diabetes. It has been a whilwin of vet visits etc. So today we went to learn how to do home testing and give the injections. Mobey did not enjoy it at all. I feel that we can do the shots easily but the issue comes with the meter. I purchased the True2Go made by Homediagnostics. The vet's meter showed a reading of 450 but with our meter with the same blood taken by the vet showed 250. I am not sure what to do. Get a new meter? Also do I need a new lancet with every test? Any and all advice would be appreicated. I have not yet purchased more test strips and would like to figure this out before I do. Thank you so much for your help.

2. Ronnie & Luna

Ronnie & Luna Well-Known Member

Hi there,
    good for you for learning to home test!
    Yes it is a good idea to replace the lancet needle for every test, or at the most every 2 tests, reused needles can irritate and wear out, most here replace it with every test, and they are fairly inexpensive too.

As for the meter u are using, I haven't heard many positive things about any meter that starts with True in it, that's not to say it is a bad choice, reviews may vary.
    As an example, if you look at this link, from Consumer Reports, they tested human meters, and one of the other True meters, the TrueTrak does not have the best ratings. You can also do a google search to find some reviews .

http://docs.google.com/View?docID=dd5ck ... on=_latest

Some recommendations would be the Relion meter, inexpensive and inexpensive strips as well, if you can afford the strips for the One Touch meter, that is a popular choice as well.

If you need tips and more info on home testing, this link has tons of info plus video links:
    viewtopic.php?f=14&t=287

3. LynnLee + Mousie