need quick advice- what to shoot

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by MicheleS, Jan 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MicheleS

    MicheleS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Sorry, don't have a chart but will do one today while at work...

    Soccer's BG was 243 last night at 545pm. gave 1 unit (as usual) and fed him. rechecked BG at 930 and it was 131. fed him again.

    this am (6am), BG was 212. I need to decrease the dose, right? He gets PZI (only for a few days, we're newbies). Pre-am's have been 276, 241, 297, and 228. Never had a spot check less than 131. I've done spots at +4, +5, +6, +7 but never on the same day (because I work!).

    Advice! Quick! I need to shoot him and get to work!
    Michele
     
  2. Venita

    Venita Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    What insulin?
     
  3. MicheleS

    MicheleS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    prozinc
     
  4. Venita

    Venita Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I do know PZI. Given you have little info, and are concerned about hypo, yes give him a reduced dose. 1/2 or 3/4 of his usual dose. He'll likely be higher than "normal" tonight, but he will be safe.
     
  5. MicheleS

    MicheleS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    ok- so .6 unit

    thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  6. Jen & Squeak

    Jen & Squeak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    It is fine to be conservative when you aren't home to monitor and when you are still in the data collection phase...

    but it would be good to know when his peak/nadir is (ie how many hours after shot) because a 131 at nadir gives you lots of room...once you know then maybe at this morning's number you might give a full dose...or not :roll:

    Let us know how things go :D
     
  7. MicheleS

    MicheleS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    I made the spreadsheet. I *think* I linked it below. Will go home for lunch and update when I get back.

    Thanks again!
    Michele
     
  8. kate and lucky

    kate and lucky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Well done on the spread sheet :mrgreen:

    Not a PZI user, but might be worth cross posting in the PZI isg also.

    Good luck
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page