Need some advise...I'm still new to all this

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Beenie (GA), Jun 12, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Beenie (GA)

Beenie (GA) Well-Known Member

My little kitty was diagnosed 5/8 and she was started on ProZinc 1 unit twice a day. Numbers wouldn't budge so we are now up to 4 units. Almost two weeks at 4 units and still getting numbers in high 300's and high 400's. I've only done a mini curve and even at 4-7 hours after injection still getting those high numbers. Today she vomited and is not eating like her usual self. I bought Ketone test strips but haven't been able to get a sample. Oddly her water consumption and urine output are down. I'm going to bring her vet today just to be safe but could it take this long to get numbers down? I'm wondering how high should an insulin dose go before you consider a different insulin?
    I'm still new and I am home testing but haven't done the FD spreadsheet to get readings every hour. I thought mini's would help identify nadir.
    I know I have to be patient but I'm concerned about the consistently high numbers . Do I just need to give it more time?
    Thanks for any feedback. I'm trying

2. Djamila

Djamila Well-Known Member

Hi Beenie, and welcome! I'm so glad to hear that you're trying to test for ketones and are going to head to the vet. Please keep us posted on how it goes!

It can certainly take awhile for the numbers to come down. It's great that you're home testing, and you certainly don't need to test every hour! If you can get the spreadsheet set up and input whatever numbers you have, we would love to take a look and see if there is anything we can suggest to help you get her numbers into better territory.