New and overwhelmed

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Phaedra, Jun 24, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Phaedra

Phaedra New Member

Hi!

We’re Sarah and Neil, owned by 4 gorgeous kitties. It will be mostly Sarah posting here as I’ve had extensive experience of messaging boards over the years.

This week we went away for a few days camping, leaving the beasts at home, like we’ve done dozens of times before, with plenty of dry food, clean litter trays and water fountains. We got home yesterday afternoon to find our oldest Polly (aged nearly 14) wasn’t well. She wasn’t moving well, was very lethargic and dehydrated. She refused food and treats. I persuaded her to drink a little but she then vomited it straight back up. Within half an hour of getting home we had rushed her to the emergency vets.

Breathing, temperature and heart rates were all fine. She has lost a significant amount of weight though, 4.2kg in February down to 3.7 kg yesterday. Her blood tests showed that she is having a diabetic crisis. Current situation is that she’s been kept overnight and is responding well to the fluids. She was tube fed last night but vomited again which isn’t a great sign but did take a very small amount of chicken hand fed by the vet which she kept down. Her glucose levels are being closely monitored and she is being treated accordingly. The vet is running another full blood work up this morning as well as the glucose testing, will call us later with the results. We’re expecting the emergency vet to keep her again tonight and then discharge her to our own vet tomorrow morning.