New Devices to Treat Feline Diabetes

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by msterns, Jan 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. msterns

msterns New Member

This is a really cool website-thank you for its creation! I am a former Equine Veterinarian who has been in the human biotech and medical device product development business for nearly twenty years. My endocrinology professor at UC Davis was Dr. Ed Feldman who always said that Feline Diabetes was the closest animal version of the syndrome in humans. Recently, I have found several fascinating technologies in human companies that might be very useful to dedicated cat owners who find the daily routine of injections and monitoring quite daunting.

Does anyone have any idea of the total US population of diabetic cats is today? I need this information to convince these people that cats could benefit from their use. As you can imagine they are leery to provide them outside of typical human channels for fear of FDA reprisal.

If anyone can help me here, or direct me to an informed source, it would be much appreciated.

Michael J. Sterns, DVM
    San Francisco Bay Area

2. Hillary & Maui (GA)

Hillary & Maui (GA) Well-Known Member

Hi Michael and welcome to the group.

I have found several fascinating technologies in human companies that might be very useful to dedicated cat owners who find the daily routine of injections and monitoring quite daunting.

What you mind sharing with us what some of these technologies are? We would be very interested to learn about this.

3. Lisa and Witn (GA)

Lisa and Witn (GA) Well-Known Member

Yes, we would be very interested in finding out more about this.