New diabetes diagnosis

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by TrtlGrl217, Mar 9, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TrtlGrl217

TrtlGrl217 New Member

Hello everyone. My 12 year old male kitty, Tyler, was diagnosed today with diabetes. My vet wants to change his diet and start insulin shots tomorrow. This is all very overwhelming to me as I have very little knowledge of this disease. From what I've read, insulin has to be adjusted as the diet is changed. I am just wondering if I should change his diet and then when he's adjusted to that start the insulin shots. Any advice would be greatly appreciated

2. Caitlin M

Caitlin M Well-Known Member

Good morning and welcome! I was a hot mess when Pita was first diagnosed less than a month ago, so we all went through that phase (I still find myself there)! Go through and read all the stickys on the forums and ask as many questions as you need! There are much more experienced people who will respond soon. However, when Pita was diagnosed, I took a few days to switch to all wet food and then began insulin about 4 days or so after. His drinking and urinating both decreased before I even began his shots. I suggest waiting a few days for the food to become stable before starting his insulin. Many of us feed Fancy Feast Classic flavors. Things people will want to know:
    What kind of food is he currently eating?
    What type of insulin did your vet suggest and at what dose?
    Any other health concerns?
    Do you know what his numbers were when diagnosed?