New diagnosis

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Linda Ford, Feb 27, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Linda Ford

    Linda Ford New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    My T-Boy is eleven years old and got the diagnosis of diabetes two months ago. I cannot afford test strips and a glucometer....I maxed out what little I had left on a credit card buying insulin and trying different kinds of food. He is a very picky eater. He will only consistently eat Friskies wet food....most specifically the "filets". I've tried the expensive grain free foods and it's hit and miss as far as him eating it. I have changed his "free" dry food to a measured amount of grain free dry food, but keep his wet food replenished often enough that he pretty much leaves the dry stuff alone.
    I have been slowly upping the dose of insulin by only gauging his polyuria and polydipsia....both of which have only improved for short intervals only.
    I live on less than $1200 month disability and have anywhere from $135 to $340 left after bills are paid (winter heating is the worst) to buy food, gas and sundries and anything T-Boy may need. I have always made sure that he is fed first....he has always come first.........but I can't afford to do all this costly treatment, so going to the vet and buying glucometers and strips is out of the question.
    He is listless, still peeing and drinking way too much most of the time. I don't know what to do. I am so sad, all I do is cry..........should I have him put to sleep?
     
  2. Hillary & Maui (GA)

    Hillary & Maui (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    If you are willing to do this, we can help you take care of TBoy in an affordable way and get him to feeling better.

    OK first off, you can do this in an affordable way - do you have a walmart nearby?

    Go there and purchase a Relion Confirm, Micro or Prime meter and matching strips - these are the most affordable out there (and NO you don't need to buy an expensive pet meter) or a name brand meter either.

    Next - the food you are feeding - the Friskies filets style may be too high in carbs. Yes, I understand he is a picky eater, but typically the pate style of canned food is low in carb and affordable. Check out this food comparison chart to see where the food you are using is... if it's more than 10 carbs, then you need to change it to one that is under 10 carbs... www.catinfo.org -- look for this link to the comparison chart -- Protein/Fat/Carbs Chart

    Next - feeding dry food, even grain food is not a good food choice for cats, especially diabetic cats. As most dry food is way to high in carbs and the processing of dry food makes it a bad food source (again read www.catinfo.org) for explanation.

    What kind of insulin are you using?
    How often are you giving insulin?
    What amount are giving?
    How are you determining the dose and how often are you changing the dose?
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  3. Hillary & Maui (GA)

    Hillary & Maui (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Let me start with some basics:

    There are three key factors to managing diabetes: food/nutrition, home testing and insulin

    1) Feline Nutrition: Now, as far as diet - definitely dump the dry food (if you are feeding any) and if the vet recommends purchasing prescription food like DM just say "no thank you". ALL cats, and especially those with diabetes, do best on a species appropriate diet that is high in protein and low in carbs. Dry food DOES NOT fit that bill and DM food, even canned, just really isn't that great as far as quality. Most here on FDMB feed low carb/high protein canned, raw bought from a pet store or they make their own.

    Here is a link to a site by a vet "Dr. Lisa DVM" ... who also posts on this board from time to time ... http://www.catinfo.org

    If you look on the right side of her site, she has a food comparison chart to help you figure out what food you want to get based on the carb %.



    You want to keep the carb % below 10% and around 7% is great. (Personally, I stay between 0-6% carbs.)



    While on her site, you can read about in-depth info. on nutrition and how to make raw food, etc.



    Here is another link that will give more information about food/nutrition



    Nutrition/food info



    The good thing with feeding your diabetic cat this way, is that it is ALSO good for any non-diabetic cat too. All your cats can safely eat the same food without worry and it may save you some costs and headaches of having to do separate feedings and keeping track of what they are eating.





    2. Home testing: It is impossible to convey the value of testing your cat's BG (blood glucose) level at home. Some vets will "suggest" this, but most won't even mention it. They will send you home with insulin and an amount to shoot and maybe some instructions about hypoglycemia (blood sugar dropping to a dangerously low level).



    Well, the thing is, human diabetics don't EVER give themselves insulin without checking there BG to make sure it is safe to do so, so why shouldn't it be the same for our kitties. Here on FDMB it is. You will notice that the vast majority of people here test their cat's BG at least 2x/day (before giving each shot to make sure the level is safe enough) and periodically at other times to see how the cat is responding to the current dose. We use a human glucometer, test strips and lancets - which are all very readily available and easy to use.



    Our kitties get lots of love and treats for "putting up" with this and most of them actually come out to be tested on their own 'cause they want those treats . Here is a collection of great links that "Carolyn and Spot" pulled together about home testing. See what you think ... it truly is the best way to not only keep your cat safe but also really get a handle on this disease and help him to live a healthy life with FD (feline diabetes).



    Home testing Links



    3. Insulin: There are several types of insulin available. The top three we recommend are Lantus, Levimer or Prozinc all are great insulins. They are gentle insulin and given twice (BID) per day in 12 hour increments.



    Please read up on the insulins available, here is a link to the Insulin Support Groups:



    Insulin Support Groups




    However, one caveat and again this shows how these three things are inter-related:



    If you are feeding dry food or even a high carb food, BEFORE removing these foods, please make sure of your insulin dose as it will most likely need to be reduced, so as to avoid a possible hypoglycemic situation due to the removal of the dry/high carb foods that will lower the BG’s and reduce the amount of insulin required. Again, another reason why home testing is important.




    I know this all seems like a lot, and that is because it is ... there is a learning curve here. But as long as you are determined and keep at it, you will have it down before you know it and you'll be seeing the results in Your cat's overall health and happiness. Ask all the questions you can think of – that is why we are here!



    Now, you can do this on a budget. Here is a shopping to get started:



    1. Meter ie Walmart Relion Confirm or Micro*

    2. Matching strips

    3. Lancets - little sticks to poke the ear to get blood . new members usually start with a larger gauge lancet such as 28g or 29g until the ear learns to bleed. Optional - lancing tool.

    4. Neosporin or Polysporin ointment with pain relief to heal the wound (can use generic brand)

    5. Mini flashlight (optional) - useful to help see the ear veins in dark cats, and to press against

    7. Ketone urine test strips ie ketodiastix - Important to check ketones when blood is high

    8. Treats for the cat - like freeze dried chicken, even rotisserie chicken, deli chicken, canned tuna will work

    9. Karo syrup/table syrup, honey or any sugar product like jam, jelly, etc. if you dont have it at home - for hypo emergencies to bring blood sugar up fast -

    10. A couple of cans of fancy feast gravy lovers or other high carb gravy food- for hypo emergencies to bring blood sugar up fast





    • We suggest the Relion meter and matching strips from Walmart, as they are the most economically priced meter and strips. That is assuming you have a Walmart nearby. If not, then you can purchase any human glucometer except for Freestyle with butterfly strips or any meter with TRU in the name. People have had issues in the past with these meters and best to start off with something else.





    Here is a link to questions that you can ask any vet:



    http://www.indulgedfurries.com/petdiabetes/diabetes_questions.htm
     
  4. Linda Ford

    Linda Ford New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
     
  5. Larry and Kitties

    Larry and Kitties Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    The Friskies fillets while not the best canned food is a lot better than any dry. I would try to change to a lower-carb canned later. No real reason to do it now.
     
  6. Linda Ford

    Linda Ford New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    It's something called Prozinc....supposed to be for cats...but the label says human insulin. I up it in tiny increments according to his urine output and water intake.....I know it's not the best way....but I cannot afford a vet trip.......I have to go to a food bank a couple times a month to adequately feed myself!
    I did just check out the Walmart Relion glucometer...you're right! It is much cheaper than what I saw at previous places...and the lancets and test strips are affordable!!!!!!!
     
  7. Linda Ford

    Linda Ford New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    Okay...then does anybody know of a food that is low carb but similar in texture to the Friskies? He won't even eat their pate....he loves the gravy part of it...
     
  8. phlika29

    phlika29 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    There are certainly ways to keep costs down and one of them is to buy a human meter as has been suggested and to buy the test strips online or off eBay. It is a lot cheaper than the one that vet sells.

    We also have a 'supply closet' where people post up things they don't need anymore. Maybe have a look in they forum or perhaps even post a thread asking if anyone has a spare meter they don't need any more

    http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/supply-closet-for-sale-or-free.15/

    You don't need to go back to the vet to change the dosage as long as you are testing at home, so this will be your cheapest option in the long run.

    What dose of prozinc are you giving?
     
  9. Hillary & Maui (GA)

    Hillary & Maui (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Prozinc is a decent insulin and one of the easier ones to work with.

    You will need to teach him to eat the pate style. The reason he likes the other is that the gravy is high carb. What you can do is add water to the pate style to make a fake gravy. I typically add 1/2 can of water to one can of food.

    If you can buy the meter and strips today, we have links that will show you how to test.

    If you tell us where you are located (city/state), there may be someone in your area who could come over and teach you in person.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  10. Linda Ford

    Linda Ford New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    6 units
     
  11. Linda Ford

    Linda Ford New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    6 units
    I am
     
  12. Linda Ford

    Linda Ford New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
     
  13. Hillary & Maui (GA)

    Hillary & Maui (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Holy smokes! That is ALOT of insulin! Especially when you are not testing!

    It can very easily explain why he isn't feeling well and acting lethargic. you could potentially be having hypo episodes and not really know it.....

    http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-treat-hypos-they-can-kill-print-this-out.15887/

    http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/jojo-and-bunnys-hypo-tool-box.2354/


    Our recommendation for a starting dose - no matter what kind of insulin you are using is 1 unit or even 1/2 unit. And with home testing, slowly over time adjusting the dose in 1/2 unit increments as it's very possible you could skip over the ideal dose. And once you inject the insulin you can't get it out.
     
  14. Hillary & Maui (GA)

    Hillary & Maui (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    By any chance is this anywhere near Edmonds WA?
     
  15. Larry and Kitties

    Larry and Kitties Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Linda Ford said:
    6 units
    I am giving 10 units in a human insulin syringe after finding a chart that gives me the conversions and I am in Puyallup, Wa.

    Drawing up ProZinc to the 10 unit mark on a human U100 syringe equal 4 units of ProZinc. ProZinc is a U40 insulin, which mean 400 units/ml.
     
  16. Hillary & Maui (GA)

    Hillary & Maui (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  17. phlika29

    phlika29 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
  18. Linda Ford

    Linda Ford New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    Hillary...thank you so much. Yes, I went and looked at the carb charts and what I am feeding is really very high in carbs!!! What I was fearful of was trying to get him to eat canned food that isn't that dang filet stuff....he will go a very long time without eating if he doesn't like his food...I wanted to avoid a hypoglycemic episode.....and I thought the meters were at least $50........that's what the vet said he had available that was the cheapest...of course, I found the Prozinc insulin online at $90 and my vet charged me $140!!! I went to the human insulin syringes because I can get a box of 100 for about $11 compared to the $27.50 that my vet wants for the cat syringes. And it's $92 for the visit and a bg check if I take him there. You have given me so much valuable information......my tears are drying and I am going to head up to Walmart to get a monitor and some strips......I am familiar with testing...I was an LPN for many years. But thank you so very much!!!! I am also going to get him some pate.........God bless you! And everybody else on here who gave me such valuable input. I thank you all!!!!
     
  19. Hillary & Maui (GA)

    Hillary & Maui (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    What I suggest is that you transition him to the pate - put a teaspoon of filet on top of pate - to "fool him" into eating the pate. It's what I had to do to get my one cat to eat canned food - I would count the kibbles and started with placing 20 piece on top of canned food and each day removing one kibble until she was eating the canned without issue.

    Do it in increments and you can make it work. And it's great that you are using U100 syringes, because as you start micro dosing, you will find it much easier to use with that syringe vs. the U40.

    Here is the conversion chart you can print and tape on fridge, so you don't have to do the calculations each time.... http://www.felinediabetes.com/insulin-conversions.htm


    Also you can feed your cat treats - just low carb treats -- here is a list that you may find helpful too... http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/list-of-low-carb-healthy-treats.9172/

    I also used baked or rotisserie chicken as treats ( removing all flavorings of course and saving that part for myself :) ).
     
  20. Hillary & Maui (GA)

    Hillary & Maui (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Dry your tears and realize that this is manageable and doable and can fit within your budget! Being a nurse, you have a level of expertise and knowledge and no fear of needles or blood! So you're a step ahead of most.

    As for testing at the vet - personally, I believe it's just a waste of money and time. As vet stress (white coat syndrome) will certainly play into the BG's and can raise them 100-200 points. Testing in home environment where kitty is relaxed and you are calm is the best way to test and get real numbers.
     
  21. phlika29

    phlika29 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    What about reducing the dose? @Hillary & Maui (GA) If Linda is changing to a lower carb would you recommend she restarts T-boy on 1 unit twice a day?
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  22. Hillary & Maui (GA)

    Hillary & Maui (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Yes that is usually the safest thing to do. And it's one unit of a U40 syringe - so you would need to use the conversion chart to get the equivalent on U100 syringe.
     
  23. manxcat419

    manxcat419 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    OK, Puyallup's maybe 20 minutes from where I work. If you need showing how to test, I'm sure I could figure out a day and time with you :)
     
    Jen&Eddie and Critter Mom like this.
  24. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    A change to low carb food may drop a cat's BG significantly. I agree with Sarah's (phlika29) concerns about dosage and food change. Changing a cat already on insulin to a low carb food is safest done when you can regularly home test through the transition period to make sure T-boy doesn't go too low, and will also provide data to guide how to adjust the insulin dose as needed.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page