New here, this was recommended to help with my cat, newly diagnosed with diabetes

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by fbrunner6, Jul 1, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fbrunner6

fbrunner6 New Member

I am just learning. Any tips and advice would be greatly appreciated. She suddenly became thin Monday &we realized that she lost almost 3 lbs when we drove down to the vet for a weight. He did an in-house blood panel and said her GLU was 337. Told me to change from our current hard food (Meow Mix) to Fancy Feast Can, and to start her on 1unit of Novolin/NPH ever 12hours. He wants to see her back in 2 weeks for a full set of labs to be sent away. (Another $100 yey!!) I haven't started the insulin yet because, after research, Im not quite sure she wont go in to remission, or atleast need a lower dose, simply by changing her diet? I got a OneTouch Glucometer last night and her # was 217 before her dinner at 11pm. It was 190 before breakfast today at 11am and it was 245 after breakfast (2 hours later). I will be taking it again here soon, then giving her dinner. Maybe I will start the insulin tomorrow morning? Not sure what to do yet. I just want to do it right and not rush it. :(

2. fbrunner6

fbrunner6 New Member

I still don't understand the "curve" that everyone talks about trying to get. I'm trying to look now for information on it as well. I'm more of a hands on person. My head can't comprehend tons of articles. :(

3. BJM

BJM Well-Known Member

Welcome to FDMB.

The change to Fancy Feast Classic Pates is OK.
    The insulin .... its a pretty harsh one for most cats that only lasts about 6-8 hours per shot, so good control may require a shot every 8 hours.

A curve is serial blood glucose testing from pre-shot to pre-shot, testing every 2 hours. It is much cheaper to do it at home, using an inexpensive human glucometer such as the WalMart Confirm or Confirm Micro, or the Target Up and Up.