New here

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Guscat, Aug 23, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Guscat

Guscat New Member

I am new to group. I have a 17 yo cat recently diagnosed with diabetes. Other than excessive drinking and pee-ing he still is the same boy. I have opted not to treat him with insulin and let things play out. I am interested in changing his diet. He used to free feed with dry food. I did get him md dry food from vet. Been giving him half cup daily.
    I also give him can of wet food daily. He likes Sheba. I would like to find store bought dry food and am open to suggestions

2. BJM

BJM Well-Known Member

Welcome to FDMB, the best place you never wanted to be.

There are 4 things you'll need to manage your kitty's diabetes:
    - You - without your commitment, the following won't work.
    - Home blood glucose monitoring with an inexpensive human glucometer such as the WalMart Relion Confirm or Target Up and Up (the pet ones will break your budget!). This saves you the cost of going to the vet for curves and done regularly, removes the need for a fructosamine test.
    - Low carb over the counter canned or raw diet, such as many Friskies pates. See Cat Info for more info. If already on insulin, you must be home testing before changing the diet. Food changes should be gradual to avoid GI upsets - 20-25% different food each day until switched. There are 2 low carb, dry, over the counter foods in the US - Evo Cat and Kitten dry found at pet specialty stores and Young Again 0 Carb found online.
    - A long-lasting insulin such as ProZinc, Lantus, BCP PZI, or Levemir. No insulin lasts 24 hours in the cat, so giving it every 12 hours is optimal for control.

3. Sharon14

Sharon14 Well-Known Member