New & need advice, feel rehoming maybbe only option

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by landv, Apr 7, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. landv

landv New Member

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the message board but have been in the world of feline diabetes for a few years now...I have been mama to a sweet -but extremely food obsessive - orange tabby, Jack, for 12 years and my heart is breaking as I type this because my husband is insistent that he will have to be rehomed...and I don't necessarily disagree. I feel so terrible but I have newborn twins and his behavioral issues are not compatible with their safety. He has become aggressive and OBSESSED with any kind of food or anything that touched food, anything that looks like it might be food related. It's not JUST his diabetes, he has always had obsessive behavior issues (used to groom himself bald, and some other weird behaviors) and the vet refuses to let me try something like Prozac to get his emotional (?) situation in check. I feel very confident that his issues stem from being born into an animal-hoarding situation, that's what he was rescued from as a kitten. He's always been very needy and OC, the vet insists we test for allergies or mess with his units...never makes a difference (I guess maybe we should just see a new vet, but I otherwise generally really like the place we take him and our other cats:/). We currently manage his diabetes with vetsulin -we have tried several others including Lantus and prozinc and adjusted the levels multiple times, done curves, home testing, and more testing, etc - and the vet agrees that we feed him adeqautely. The thing is, he is constantly trying to eat any/everything. He nearly took my finger off lunging and swiping a piece of lettuce off of my plate. He took an entire bag of frozen french fries down the steps and across the basement. And we had a friend over that didn't know any better and put a 1/2 piece of pizza on the c