NEW/terrified, BG low and afraid to give insulin

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by TommysMom, Nov 19, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TommysMom

TommysMom New Member

Hi all,

Short:
    My name is Anna and I am new to caring for a diabetic cat. I'm worried my cat Tommy's dose it too high. I am awful at/basically unable to test his BG at home but my fiance got his BG today (half an hour before I was going to blindly give him his next shot) and his BG is at 114. He's on 3 units of Lantus twice a day. Am I wrong for not wanting to give him his next shot? I am terrified I am sabotaging his treatment and chance at remission by skipping doses but he has had BG at 83 and then 53 recently and I'm scared.

Background (Long):

My cat Tommy got diagnosed October 25th after sudden weight loss/no appetite. Was diagnosed with BG in the high 550-590 range and put on Lantus at 3 units twice a day. Before his diabetes he was at 18 lbs (big frame but was a little chonky), at diagnosis he was at 12 lbs. Now he's around 13-14. I changed his diet to half wet (no carb) and half dry (carb content of food way below 10%).