*new to at home testing*Trouble with getting enough blood for a test strip

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Brittany Conroy, Aug 10, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Brittany Conroy

Brittany Conroy New Member

Hi all,
    I am new to at home testing. My husband and I have been trying for a couple days to get readings out of our lulu. However, we are experiencing that we are not getting enough blood from the ear or the paw prick with the relion prime meter. I tried massaging the area before on her ear and it just isn't enough and after the poke. Same with her paw.Im wondering if anybody has any advice we really need to get her readings??
    Thanks in advance!!

2. Chris & China (GA)

Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

Have you tried warming the ear (or pawpad) really well? It can make a huge difference!

You can use a sock with a little dry rice in it (microwave to heat, test like a baby bottle against your wrist to make sure it's not too hot) or use a small pill bottle filled with warm water (again, test temp first)

3. Jerry dutchboy

Jerry dutchboy Well-Known Member

Hi, if you poke the ear hold your finger under the hole and gently massage above the poke site downwards. The blood flow from the tip down. Warming the ear makes it bleed a bit better. As you test more the ear grows more capillaries and it will get easier I promise.

The best of luck.:)

4. Jack the Cat

Jack the Cat Member

I would use a bit of petroleum jelly on the edges of Jack's ears which helped the blood pool enough to get enough for a good test.

Brittany Conroy likes this.
  5. CandyH & Catcat

CandyH & Catcat Well-Known Member

I feel your pain with the ReliOn Prime, I got one of those first and got error message after error message, not enough blood
    luckily the Walmart still had a ReliOn Confirm on their closeout shelf, it takes the smaller blood sample like the AlphaTrak and the Freestyle Lite