New to FDMB-Lantus questions

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Jobeth77, Mar 8, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jobeth77

Jobeth77 New Member

HI everyone,
    I do see that there is a Lantus forum and may post there. I'm sorry if I posted in the wrong place. I have a 14 y/o cat that was recently diagnosed with diabetes. I have one other cat with diabetes but am considering doing some changes for her as she is on dry food and I want to convert her to wet food. I know how to home test but I am new to hearing about this German Method and wonder if I can get some general information about it?[/b] Milo was given one unit of Lantus (the vet said to give two but his first reading in the AM was 288 and I gave less because I wasn't sure how he would respond the first time. He responded well throughout the day (in the 100's pretty much all day- (low of 132 about seven hours after giving the insulin). He ended up being around 200 at the end of the twelve hour period. I didn't give him another unit because I was afraid he would be too low starting off at 200 in the evening. The next morning he was in the 500's (gave 1.5 units) and ended up at 129 12 hours later. On Monday morning he was 200 and I hadn't given him anything on Saturday evening.

I see that consistency is key and I want to be consistent but I'm afraid he's going to be too low. I was thinking about starting off at .5 for him and keeping it there for a few days as suggested on some of the posts. He's also tough because he doesn't always eat all of his food and is more of a grazer. I have switched to Wellness canned food.

I guess I am looking for a quick version of this German method that I see people posting about and wonder where I should start for dosing. If I had given the two units that the vet suggested he could have been in trouble.