New to ProZinc... why is SO expensive??? Alternatives?

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by njohnson, Jan 18, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. njohnson

njohnson New Member

Hello Everyone,

My name is Norma. My kitty Cleo (9 years old) was just diagnosed 2 days ago. We noticed a weakness in her hind legs and after bloodwork was diagnosed with diabetes. Our vet prescribed 2 units of ProZinc (U-40), twice a day. I have some experience with diabetes in humans and once I found out about Cleo's condition I've done a lot of reading!

My question is why is ProZinc so expensive (vet charges $120 for a 10ml vial) I looked around on he internet and prices were not much better when shipping is included. I understand that it is a brand name medication especially formulated for cats, but is it the best option for the money? I want to take the best care of my furbaby but I would like to do this without breaking the bank.

What is the best source for ProZinc? What other alternative insulins are there that are more cost effective?

Thank you in advance for any help!!!
    Norma and Cleo

2. Rob & Harley (GA)

Rob & Harley (GA) Well-Known Member

Hi and welcome to our group!

Unfortunately all of the recommended insulins are about the same price. There is a compounded PZI insulin that is less expensive but it is becoming harder and harder to get and the potency from batch to batch can be inconsistant.

Some Costco's can order Prozinc for you, the cost at my Costco was $77, and I was able to leverage that to get the vet to price match.

Why is the vet starting Cleo on 2 units? The Prozinc web site recommends starting at 1 unit twice a day and that is the recommended starting dose here as well.

Welcome aboard.

3. Also keep in mind that your vial holds 400 units of insulin. That's a three month supply at this dose, so a bit over a dollar a day? Less at a lower dose.