New to site with recently dx diabetic cat

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Amy E, Nov 25, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Amy E

Amy E New Member

Hello, me and my 10+ yr old neutered male tabby cat Sabaay (suh-bye) are new to this site.
    He has been dx diabetic for just over 2 months now. He currently receives Rx Prozin 1.5u BID (8:00am and 8:00pm) and has now been on a grain free dry food kibble diet for about the same time. He eats roughly 15-60 minutes prior to his injection. He started out at 20lbs, and is now 15lbs since starting the insulin at 1u, then bumping up to 1.5u, along with his grain free diet. His energy and fur coat has changed immensely, while appearing to look younger. We've done one glucose curve at home seeing I was a vet tech for 9yrs, and feel more than comfortable.... yet it doesn't make it any easier when it's your own cat and they fight it terribly with stress and confusion. We've attempted another curve and it didn't get completed due him being in too high of stress. It's now been about two months since his last curve, where I've recently noticed major changes in him, again, yet different changes. He's exhibiting onset/ chronic neuropathy in his pelvic limbs (gradually within 2-5 days), lethargy, and drinking excessively. My doctor is aware of his high stress during his last glucose curves in the past and has suggested the fructosamine test, yet it was too costly at the time. Since his now onset neuropathy, I'm planning on doing his glucose curve in two days (Sunday) when I'm not working all day. I've been reading past posts recommending soft food over dry food, along with the fructosamine test being important. Also, posts mentioning breaking down a BG spreadsheet to determine future action/ changes. Any suggestions or more details would be greatly appreciated!
    Sabaay and myself thank you in advance!

2. Larry and Kitties

Larry and Kitties Well-Known Member

Welcome.