New to the group, ...my diabetic Foster Kitty 'Edith'

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by albertresidence, Dec 17, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. albertresidence

albertresidence Member

I've been doing Feline Rescue Work since 2007. Our Rescue pulls "Time Stamped" kitties of the Euthanasia List at a local, high kill shelter to give them a second chance in life. I take in the medical urgent cases and provide Senior and Hospice care for kitties in their golden years. Interestingly, I never had a diabetic foster kitty and then comes beautiful little Edith. She was on the list to be euthanized and we took her under our wing. She was transported to a Vet that our Rescue works with. That's where she was diagnosed with diabetes.

The Vet office fell in love with her and welcomed her to stay as their office kitty. Things changed,... so little Miss Edith is now with me. Per Vet she is on 2U of Lantus SID (in the morning, after breakfast) and the diet, per Vet, Fancy Feast - classic - pate but all fish flavors. No other instructions were giving to me, just to keep her on the insulin and feeding her FF. Basically telling me that I have to blind dose her. Since I never had a diabetic foster, I started to research Feline Diabetes to educate myself. I learned that you have to test their BG at home. I bought the glucose meter ReliOn Premier Classic, test strips and lancets a couple of days ago at Walmart and started checking her BG levels. I purchased different flavors of classic FF other then fish but also started looking into other wet foods with better ingredients for a diabetic cat with the focus on low carb - high protein.