New to the process

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Gweny poo, Jun 28, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Gweny poo

Gweny poo New Member

Hello,
    I am very new to this situation and I need some advise. My Cat, Gwen (we call her gwenny poo), is a newly diagnosed diabetic. It all started when I took my two cats in for a yearly check up. I mentioned at the time that one of them or both has been peeing outside of the litter box, not a speckle, but a lot!. They did blood work and a urine sample. Her numbers where in the high 500's low 600's
    Turns out one of them had a uti and the other is a diabetic (gwen). They had started her on vetsulin and the other they gave a antibiotic. It worked for a few days because she was her old self. then the peeing outside the box started again. I knew who it was and they increased it a bunch of times and did curves. once she came home from the vets office she would be fine, until the next day. started all over again. We ended up getting a glucose monitor and record the numbers for the vets office. It was apparent that she might be insulin resistant. We did notice it was in the 500's and 400's.
    Then they decided to try a new insulin called bovine. Worked for a few days or a day and went right back to where she started from. Now they are saying that she might be resistant to this one. On top of all of this she ended up with a bad uti. they gave her two shots of antibiotics.
    I'm really worried that they aren't going to find something that works. Has anyone at all ran into this situation where it feels like nothing is working??? any advise would help.

2. Idjit's mom

Idjit's mom Well-Known Member

Good morning and welcome to FDMB. The purpose of this board is to provide information and support for all diabetic kitty care givers, so you have come to the right place.