New to this and scared!

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Misa Mia, Sep 17, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Misa Mia

Misa Mia New Member

I'm new to all of this and worried about my little girl. My baby of 14 years was just diagnosis the other day. We took her to vet BC my mom who had taken care of her since she was about 2, was complaining of her urinating on carpet and clawing her couch up. She has never urinated until recently and the clawing fairly new also. So they tested her urine and blood, they both were pretty high. I took her home with me to stay so I could take care of her. Right now I have immediately changed her diet and really nothing more pertaining to the diabetes. She is happy, going potty in her box like she should, eating and drinking and also playing. She doesn't really seem like anything is is bothering her. What are the chances that she was stressed and sad where she was living and that caused her spike in sugars?? Is this possible? I have read that stress and sadness could cause this. I dont blame her for being stressed or scared. As much as my mom id a good mom to me, she's not the best furmom! I'm just scared for her, want her to be OK. This is scary for us both. Any advice would be much appreciated! Thanks!!

2. Voula

Voula Well-Known Member

Welcome to the board to you and Mia too. It is very stressful to receive a diabetes diagnosis and you are not alone in how you are feeling at the moment. Was a fructosamine test done? Stress can elevate blood glucose levels but a fructosamine test will test for ongoing elevation of blood glucose over a period of time so that will rule out stress induced hyperglycemia that can happen at the vet. All the best to you and Mia and hopefully it was just stress. What treatment was prescribed apart from a change in food?

3. Misa Mia

Misa Mia New Member