? New to this

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Sweet Cole, Dec 7, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sweet Cole

Sweet Cole New Member

I'm new to cat diabetes. stumbled upon this site. I took my Cole in last week because of his symptoms of weight loss, coat unhealthy, malaise, eyes dazed and he has diabetes. I am giving him insulin twice a day and bought Hill diabetic diet food. I still need a glucometer. I want to vent that I spent $ at the vet on this new diagnosis, and find myself feeling taken advantage of when I learned I paid $50.00 for 100 insulin syringes with a collection box for the used needles. I can use a milk jug and buy 100 at store for $10.00. I lose respect easily when I feel I have been taken advantage of. I spent almost $300.00 to initially start up caring for my sweet Cole. Am I being too dramatic? I know the cost of health can be expensive but To pay what I did on the box and syringes it too much. Cole is being a sport thru all this.

2. Larry and Kitties

Larry and Kitties Well-Known Member

Welcome.
    Good insulin are the human Lantus and Levemir and the pet insulins ProZinc and BCP PZI. For those two human insulin it is best to get the 5 pack of 3 ml disposable pens via a 10 ml vial. Although per ml the vial is less expensive most cats will not use up a 10 ml vial before the insulin goes bad/becomes ineffective. The human insulin N/NPH is sometimes prescribed but only lasts 8-10 hours. Same for the pet insulin Vetsulin/Caninsulin.