New User Needing Help with Dosing

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by KPassa, Apr 19, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. KPassa

    KPassa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    A new user posted in the wrong spot, so I wanted to make sure they didn't get lost in the shuffle. I've re-directed them to check here for response.

    Re: Looking for advice with insulin dosing

     
  2. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Unfortunately, Lantus is not the type of insulin where you can effectively use a sliding scale. Rather, Lantus works best if you give the same dose, twice a day. It's great you're home testing.

    Normal blood glucose (BG) is 50 - 120mg/dL (2.8 - 6.7 mmol/L). With your cat's BG dropping to 2.7, you want to reduce the dose to 0.75u.

    If your kitty is seeing numbers that are below 200 mg/dL (11.1 mmol/L), I don't know if you have the data to shoot. Most of us have a spreadsheet with our cat's BG test data. This provides us with a sense of the pattern our cat's BG follows as well as a sense of whether it's safe to shoot. We recommend that if ou get a pre-shot test that's under 200/11.1, you post and ask for help.

    You might want to look over this set of instructions on Shooting & Handling Low Numbers.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page