Newbie and BG is 33. Help

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Oliver, Feb 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Oliver

Oliver New Member

Hi. I'm new to this. My cat was diagnosed 2 weeks ago w/ diabetes w/ BG of 481. For 2 weeks we changed the diet to meat and the level dropped yesterday to 305. Our vet had us start Lantus last night at 3.00 units 2X daily. This morning his AMPS was 160 and we dosed 3.00 units. We just tested him and now his PMPS is 33. We have not dosed him. What should we do? He seems fine but his low BG is concerning to us. Hoping you can help.

Thanks!

911 icon removed by moderator.

2. Jen & Squeak

Jen & Squeak Well-Known Member

3 units lantus for a newbie? Argh!

Ok, do NOT give insulin, not even a bit.

How is he acting? glassy eyes? staggaring? Staring off into space? Do you have any dry food you can give?

3. Deanie and Boo (GA) and Scout

Deanie and Boo (GA) and Scout Well-Known Member

Food. Right now.

If he isn't showing any symptoms, you don't have to give a ton of food but I would definitely offer food now.

4. Larry and Kitties

Larry and Kitties Well-Known Member

How long after the 3 units did you get the 33? If about 12 hours he will probably be OK. I would test again not assuming that is 15 minutes or more later. If no going down just feed normally.

5. Jen & Squeak

going forward, no insulin if 200 or less, and start over at 1 unit. Yikes!

6. Oliver

Oliver New Member

He seems just a little bit out of it but not not out of the ordinary. I am not sure if I would say he has glassy eyes. What kind of food should whe give him? We have some dry cat food.

7. Jen & Squeak

Larry, the 33 is at PMPS.....

8. Oliver

Oliver New Member

The 33 was 12 hours after the dose and after he finished eating his all meat p.m. meal.

9. Joanna & Bix (GA)

Joanna & Bix (GA) Well-Known Member

xposted on Lantus forum

10. Phoebe_TiggyGA_NortonGA

Phoebe_TiggyGA_NortonGA Well-Known Member