Newbie concerns

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by AFinn, Aug 29, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AFinn

AFinn New Member

I am new to this, so I hope I'm doing this right. My cat was diagnosed with diabetes last Monday after showing some symptoms like drinking and urinating more. He is almost 10 years old and is 15 pounds. I've taken him to the vet for two glucose curves and he was started out on 2 units twice a day (to be be on the safe side but was told he'd likely be on 3) of Vetsulin and just bumped up to 3 units twice a day yesterday. For the first glucose curve, he was given something to help with stress levels and to help keep him calm. I was told he responded surprisingly well to the first curve. He's scheduled for another next week. He eats Purina indoor dry food, 1/3 cup with each insulin dose, and I leave out what he doesn't eat at that time. I'll give him a couple treats, too. I hope that's enough food. I don't know how to calculate how much he should get. The vet wants to keep him on his normal food and routine and thinks it's better for him to eat than to possibly be picky and not eat a new food. He may adjust his diet if he's hard to regulate. I haven't learned how to do home testing yet. I am trying to put my trust in the vet. I'm just very scared that I'm going to do something wrong that will cause something bad to happen to my cat. I'm also completely terrified of a hypoglycemic episode or that I won't recognize it or will be gone or sleeping. How soon after giving insulin can one typically occur? I've been watching him so closely after each dose, I'm that scared, and I know I would get more sleep if I wasn't so scared of that. The vet tried to assure me that it won't happen but told me what to do if it does. If anyone has any tips for this newbie, or anything that could help ease my fears, please let me know. I will try to update my profile and create an introduction soon.