newbie here- dumb dumb is gone.

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by vinneesf, Jan 28, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vinneesf

vinneesf Member

i had to put dumbdumb to sleep tonight... he had numerous issues that had gotten worse..the diabetes wasn't the biggest problem, it was the fluid in his lungs that overwhelmed him. the diuretic removed some of the fluid but the fluid immediately came back and he was at the point where there was nothing left i could do for him. i feel like i've been fighting the inevitable for the last 8 months and DD finally gave up. i could see it in his eyes earlier this week and despite my efforts, he just got worse and worse. i knew it was time... he was my best buddy for the last 17 years ever since he was a kitten. thank you so very much to everyone on here that helped me with his diabetes. i wasn't very successful with bringing his numbers under control and it was frustrating at times. i really appreciate how everyone here is so understanding and so helpful and generous with your advice and your time and attention. i wish everyone here the best

my cat just started insulin today.. he is 17y.o...weighs 15lbs and is lovingly named "dumb dumb" :) I've had him and his sister since they were kittens (his sister passed away 2 years ago). i'm not a vet or part of a rescue group or anything like that and I haven't owned any other cats so while I do my homework on what the vet tells me...my experience is pretty limited.