Newbie Here - Jake 15 diagnosed over the weekend

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by breayle and jake, Mar 1, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. breayle and jake

breayle and jake Member

cat(2)_steam

My little old man has been diagnosed with diabetes! When I first heard this I started to cry, I was told maintaining a diabetic cat would cost $600 a month! And since my monthly income is about $800 I was really crushed. He's been with me since I was a kid and I just couldn't imagine killing him for having diabetes, especially since my mother is a diabetic and we certainly didn't put her down.

When I found this site I relaxed, and felt so much better so thank you guys for being here. Jake has been switched to a wet food diet (which he loves) however, he still walks around the house begging for food. He acts like he's starving! He's been eating 8oz of wet food daily so honestly he's not starving... he's just pissed he can't free feed on his dry food all day!

Today he got into the last of the dry food (I have a few cats and there are some that are 100% outdoors) I don't know how much he ate, but he did eat some... I'm sure he's gonna get some high counts today.

Here's the big question, I'm going to start feeding him a raw species appropriate diet. I went to the butcher shop today and got a whole chicken, and some tastey giblets. Here's the recipie I'm going to use.

http://www.catnutrition.org/recipes.php

Now, how much of this delicious glop should I give him? I know he needs at least 180cals a day to maintain his weight (11.5 lbs) but he was 14 lbs in November when he went in for pneumonia so he lost 3lbs. I'd like to get him back to 14 lbs 'cos he's a pretty big kitty.

If I plan of feeding him three times a day, how much should each portion of the cat food recipe above be? 3oz each? 4?