Newbie here looking for reassurance

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Kris & Rasmus, Mar 2, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kris & Rasmus

Kris & Rasmus Member

'afternoon!

So, I'm the slave of Rasmus, a 12-year-old, part-Burmese neutered male. Yes, he ticks ALL the boxes for likelihood of developing diabetes, which he was diagnosed with a couple of weeks ago.

I, of course, panicked which in turn led me to this group and reading all the information I could get my hands on. Thank goodness you exist - you've been pivotal in getting to grips with this illness. Husband is away on a business trip for a couple of weeks, so I'm having to deal with this new situation mostly on my own. He (husband) doesn't do well with needles or blood so apart from the emotional support, he's not dealing with it the same way I am. Before he left, he had to give Rasmus a couple of the injections and got very woozy and had to sit down. Took and hour before he recuperated.

Anyhow. Injecting Rasmus is fairly painless and fine. I've mostly got that down. However, I've started to do home testing and he does not like it at all, at all, at all. I don't blame him. Who wants their ears pricked all the time by an incompetent owner/slave. He panics because I haven't gotten the hang of the testing quite yet as it appears I've been piercing his ears - poor thing!!! Stupid lancet device. I've changed it down to the middle setting now (3) after doing some rather painful testing on myself. Setting 5 does *not* feel like a mosquito bite. I'm hoping the readings will go down as they seem a little high.