Newbie here...need assistance plz

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Lmctwig, Dec 11, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lmctwig

Lmctwig New Member

Hi...new here and I am not very savvy at all this. I have a 7 yr old Maine Coon, Shadow. He was diagnosed with diabetes 9 months ago. Vet has him on very expensive dry cat food: Hills WD. I administer 6 MLS in AM and 5 MLS in PM of ProZinc insulin.
    The original reason I brought him into vet was because he pees an excessively huge amount. He started at 18.1 lbs and lost a lot of weight...down to 12.2 lbs. Just recently vet had me start giving him NutriCal...an oral gel to gain weight. He's now up to 13 lbs. Vet advised no more NutriCal...he is at the weight she wants...he seems way too small for a Maine Coon. I just do not feel he is getting any better.
    I apologize for rambling on but I am trying to give as much info as possible. Can anyone advise of a good wet food for him plzzz.

2. Ann & Scatcats

Ann & Scatcats Well-Known Member

Last edited: Dec 11, 2019
  3. Veronica & Babu-chiri

Veronica & Babu-chiri Well-Known Member

First of all welcome!!

And take a big breath, we know (been there) is a lot to take on at first but eventually it does get better

One of the reasons he's losing weight is because the high blood sugar levels doesn't allow his body to really use the food and nutrients he gets properly, once his diabetes gets regulated they stop loosing it and usually start going back to their normal weight without you needing to give any extra supplements or anything